Setup Exchange on iphone

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by tfast, Jul 11, 2008.

  1. tfast macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #1
    I have heard from friends that some companies do not wish to push email to any phones they don't own, iphones included. If the company doesn't supply it, is there anyway to get the server information if it's not as simple as "exchange.anycompany.com".

    I've heard about people on laptops setting up entourage with the OWA address in the server line to avoid having to VPN in or having to use a web browser for email. Is that an option for the iphone? Are there issues with this method? Would a company have issues with this method since it's not push?

    On a similar note, how do the remote wiping tools work and how do you access them?
     
  2. dauerhippo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    #2
    I have the same problem. My University IT person said they would support iPhones maybe in August!

    I can connect without VPN from mac.mail program though, but when I use the same server settings on the iPhone, it fails verification. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
     
  3. lnferno macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    #3
    The Exchange server admin has to set your account to allow for wireless access. You can access your Exchange account through IMAP and cradle to sync your contacts and calender, but to setup an actual Exchange account, your Exchange account has to be configured with the wireless access to do so.
     
  4. huskydsl macrumors member

    huskydsl

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #4
    Setting up Exchange

    You have to have access to the exchange pieces that allow remote access. If your company uses Outlook Web Access, and you have permissions to access your mail through the web from any computer using OWA, then you likely will be able to set up exchange without getting any additional permissions.

    go to settings>mail,contacts,calendars
    Touch add account
    Touch Exchange
    Use the account name exactly as you would enter it in your OWA login screen. Include the domain name if you are required to do that for accessing OWA.
    Enter your password you would use for OWA.

    Click next and you will be prompted to add the server. Use your OWA server address minus the http part. It's the same as what is shown in your browser address bar when you access OWA. If that all doesn't work, you'll likely need to work with your IT folks to make some mods to your account or the exchange structure to allow you to use the sync
     
  5. CKJ macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    #5
    Thanks for the info huskydsl. I have owa access for my work and am also unable to get access. Why is it my blackberry could access this webemail without an issue?

    It's a huge hassle to get the IT team involved. I work at a large company with outsourced India IT that could give a crap about my iphone exchange access. I'm sure they will tell me to fly a kite. :(
     
  6. GNice macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    #6
    OMG...it works like a charm. I would have thought I would need our IT group to do something besides support OWA (which they've stated they won't do under any circumstances)...they are not fans of the iPhone and strongly prefer RIM products. This is sooooo great!!!!:D
     
  7. dauerhippo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    #7
    Hmm... My verification still fails. They don't even allow IMAP or POP access, if that makes any difference - seems like i'm stuck with OWA for now. It's weird though, b/c i can set up mail.app or entourage just fine, but it doesn't work on my iphone?
     
  8. boojie macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    #8
    need some help!

    CAN SOMEONE HELP ME PLEAAAASSSSE! IM TRYING TO FIGURE OUT HOW DO ERASE THE 2.0 ON MY FIRST GENERATION THAT I UPGRADED THIS MORNING WITHOUT THINKING!!! then from there i can redo the rest myyself ini ziphone...thank yoyu soo much if anyone can help
     
  9. lnferno macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    #9
    In your account in Active Directory/Exchange, there is an attribute specifically called "Outlook Mobile Access" (OMA). That value needs to be set to "enabled". On your MAC, you're likely connecting via Web-Dav, which is not the same protocol as OMA.
     
  10. dauerhippo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    #10
    So, according to IT's website, they use something called "Good mobile messaging server" for Windows mobile, but they don't have any server settings listed.

    Does this mean I should be able to connect my iphone, or does it mean i wont?
     
  11. lnferno macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    #11
    I don't believe that the Good Mobile service is compatible with the iPhone.
     
  12. Nimiety macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    #12
    @huskydsl - wow - I am surprised, I admit, but that worked like a charm for me as well! I now have push email from exchange just like that.
     
  13. monkeytennis macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    #13
    This is probably a complete non-starter, but I thought I'd ask anyway.

    My IT dept doesn't have IMAP, and my exchange server in Outlook is KTEALXCH002A.kt.group.local, which isn't an 'internet-friendly' address or domain. I pinged that address from work and it had an email address which *looked* OK but which was unreachable from home and it failed on my iPhone.

    So I'm wondering if there's any clever bods out there who can tell me how I might find an accessible Exchange server that I can use with my iPhone. We have webmail - could it be deduced from that?

    Many thanks for any help, even if the answer's "no" :)
     
  14. Nimiety macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    #14
     
  15. monkeytennis macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    #15
     
  16. SheepNutz macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Location:
    Kantuckee
    #16
    Thanks a lot, this worked perfectly, except the mail doesn't want to push to my phone. Emails will show up when I check it manually, but they aren't being pushed. Any idea how to fix this?
     
  17. johnwin macrumors 6502

    johnwin

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Location:
    Hull, UK
    #17
    Same here! I've spent 4 months trying to get the exchange settings from IT so I could set up my WinMo phone [spit!] and now I have my iPhone all set upjust 1 week after receiving it

    Thanks - this forum is ACE!
     
  18. Passante macrumors 6502a

    Passante

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Location:
    on the sofa
    #18
    Active sync needs to be turned on for your account. Your administrator will meed to do that.
     
  19. johnwin macrumors 6502

    johnwin

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Location:
    Hull, UK
    #19
    Just one thing - it's covered in other posts on here but not in this thread - depending on how your exchange admin has set things up using exchange will force a passcode lock on your phone :(

    I've set mine to a very easy code and for it to only lock after 15 mins.

    I'm not happy but having access to my work email [just about] justifies this imposition
     
  20. clayj macrumors 604

    clayj

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Location:
    visiting from downstream
    #20
    Actually, if he is getting e-mail at all, then ActiveSync is running.

    Push is a different beast and requires additional settings to work. Have your IT administrator look here:

    http://msexchangeteam.com/archive/2006/04/03/424028.aspx

    and make sure that your Exchange Server is correctly set up to support Push. Also, when you are testing Push, make sure that the WiFi in your iPhone is turned OFF: Push and WiFi do not play nice.
     
  21. albeli macrumors 6502

    albeli

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Location:
    Here
    #21

    Thanks for posting this info! I got my work email set up very quickly and easily. :)
     
  22. CKJ macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    #22
    I finally got my work email and calendar working. IT had to enable something on my account for it work. Works like a charm, as good as my old blackberry..
     
  23. boomshankar macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    #23
    Hi CKJ, I am facing similar problem on my iPhone, What settings did your IT team do for your Exchange server mails, Calendar to work?
    Like you said its a paain to get IT involved in this. :)

    Cheers
     
  24. vvenk macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    #24
    Unable to setup Exchange webmail

    Hello:

    I followed your directions but unable to connect:

    EMail: VenkatV@NJ.ABCCarpets.Com
    Server: mail.ABCCarpets.Com/owa
    Domain: NJ
    username: venkatv
    password: the same I use to connect using browser

    I turned SSL on.

    But it says "Cannot Get Mail; The connection to the Server failed"

    The url for accessing the account via the Browser is:

    https://mail.ABCCarpets.Com/owa

    Any ideas?

    Venki
     
  25. vvenk macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    #25
    Hello:

    I followed your directions but unable to connect:

    EMail: VenkatV@NJ.ABCCarpets.Com
    Server: mail.ABCCarpets.Com/owa
    Domain: NJ
    username: venkatv
    password: the same I use to connect using browser

    I turned SSL on.

    But it says "Cannot Get Mail; The connection to the Server failed"

    The url for accessing the account via the Browser is:

    https://mail.ABCCarpets.Com/owa

    Any ideas?

    Venki
     

Share This Page