Setup Exchange on iphone

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by navigates, Jul 29, 2008.

  1. navigates macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    #1
    I've tried following directions mentioned on the other posts but I still get the Exchange Authentication failure. I've successfully setup Cisco VPN and can browse the internet using Safari.

    I've tried getting the server address from outlook and trying it in the server settings and that does not work. I've also tried the url trick outlook.company.com and that too comes back with authentication error.

    Can someone please help.. Is there something that the administrator has to open. In my opinion if the PC works with VPN then the email client should work too right?

    Any ideas please.
     
  2. Ninja Guidan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    #2
    Do you guys have webmail setup? If so, try that address. That's how my company has it setup for Windows Mobile. The account also has to be setup to allow Windows Mobile. I'm not the Exchange IT guy so I don't know all the details.
     
  3. navigates thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    #3
    I've tried that too and get the authentication error. However it does work on my laptop or any other PC just fine but not on the iphone. I called the support desk to add my account to windows mobile and they said they would not support it.
     
  4. Ninja Guidan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    #4
    Does your company currently have Windows Mobile devices or are they using Blackberries? If Windows Mobile, find out what the procedures are to set it up on your device (don't tell them you have an iPhone, tell them Samsung or LG or something). If Blackberries, then there's nothing they can do because chances are, they are not going to turn on Activesync unless you are the CIO, CFO, CEO, etc.
     
  5. navigates thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    #5
    Thats correct. They have blackberries and would not support windows mobile. I thought the setup on iphone would be the same as a PC as the outlook accesses. I can setup any PC to work with my company's email.
     
  6. navigates thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    #6
    I guess they do have to turn on something. I thought it would be ok since the sync works like an outlook client
     
  7. poolish macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Location:
    south coast, uk
    #7
    in the username field have you used the domain.. like 'domain\username'
    because first i tried just the username and it kept saying authentication failed and asking for the password again. even though when i log into outlook web access i only have to use the username. so maybe try putting the domain before your username.?
    im pretty sure that if you can use outlook then the iphone will be able to connect as well without IT enabling anything else.
     
  8. navigates thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    #8
    I've tried that. The domain is NA\Username and that too comes back with authentication failed. i'm sure there is something small I'm missing. how do you type the domain: na\username? or \NA\Username. I tried na\username
     
  9. Warbrain macrumors 603

    Warbrain

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #9
    I've been told by the person in charge of Exchange at my employer/university that you need ActiveSync turned on. Without it, the iPhone won't connect with an Exchange server.

    That's going to be your problem. Seems as if you don't have access to it.
     

Share This Page