Setup iPad w/o computer?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by CmdrLaForge, Mar 12, 2010.

  1. CmdrLaForge macrumors 68040

    CmdrLaForge

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    Location:
    around the world
    #1
    Is it possible to just use an iPad without a computer?
     
  2. GeekGirl* macrumors 65816

    GeekGirl*

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Location:
    Buffalo, NY
    #2
    yes use a friends for set up :)
     
  3. macswitcha2 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    #3
    iPad is simply a huge iPhone without a camera and a little more. So yes, it can be used independent of a computer unless you want to use iTunes.
     
  4. wolfpackfan macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Location:
    Cary, NC
  5. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #5
    A computer is required for setup, but not for general use.

     
  6. raremage macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida
    #6
    I wonder if the Apple stores will make using the instore systems available for buyers to use to configure their iTunes account? I think they do that for iPhone purchases, don't they?
     
  7. CmdrLaForge thread starter macrumors 68040

    CmdrLaForge

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    Location:
    around the world
    #7
    Those are the system requirements if you want to sync it with your Mac. My questions is if I do need a computer at all?

    I mean what about all those people that just don't have a PC or Mac but for whom a device like iPad would be fantastic?
     
  8. goobot macrumors 603

    goobot

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Location:
    long island NY
    #8
    if it does just ask apple to do it, is that so hard?
     
  9. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #9
    ...those are the requirements listed on Apple's iPad page. So yes, you are required to have a computer for something if you want an iPad if only to activate it or whatever.
     
  10. ThatsMeRight macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    #10
    You actually don't. There will be only one small difference. If you use a computer with iTunes, you can put all your songs, movies etc. in iTunes and synch it.

    If you do not use a computer at all, you can still acces iTunes on your iPad but there you can download songs and movies from the store.

    Photos? Just use the camera kit. Everything else you need is available on the iPad: a browser, 150.000 applications, iWork (typing documents etc. and than you can mail them to others).

    So if you think carefully about it, you actually can use the iPad without having a computer.
     
  11. ThatsMeRight macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    #11
    Requirements to synch with iTunes on your computer. iPad works out of the box, no activation or something else needed.
     
  12. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #12
    No you do not need to plug it into a computer to set it up. Like with an iPod touch you can register an iTunes account etc without even plugging it in.
     
  13. CmdrLaForge thread starter macrumors 68040

    CmdrLaForge

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    Location:
    around the world
    #13

    Sure - thats one option. In the store. I just would like to know if it does require a Mac or not. I guess we find out April 3rd and not earlier. I hoped that maybe some information about that could be found somewhere on Apples pages. I searched them but couldn't find any hint.

    As you can see in my sig - I actually have a Mac - in fact I own 4 of them plus 2 PeeeCeees. Just curious.

    Technically correct. Still not 100% sure.

    Yep - me think thats correct. Again - we will find out April 3rd.
     

Share This Page