Setup keyboard like on iPhone

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Sairo, Oct 19, 2012.

  1. Sairo macrumors regular

    Sairo

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Location:
    The Netherlands, Almere
    #1
    Hi guys,

    I was wondering if it's possible to setup my MacBook keyboard like my iPhone.
    I couldn't find any settings.

    What I mean by this is that it automatically puts an capital at the beginning of a sentence and automatically puts a dot when I double press space after my sentences.

    I'm not sure if this is possible, it would be nice tough.

    Thanks guys.
     
  2. Interstella5555 macrumors 603

    Interstella5555

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    #2
    Not that I know of, but it would be handy.
     
  3. Rizzm macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    #3
    No. Keep that feature on iOS devices please. Shift key is your friend.
     
  4. Interstella5555 macrumors 603

    Interstella5555

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    #4
    What exactly would be the drawback for having it as an option?
     
  5. Sairo thread starter macrumors regular

    Sairo

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Location:
    The Netherlands, Almere
    #5
    Exactly. It's an lovely addition, why not also have it on your mac?
     
  6. stuaz macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    #6
    For me it is no big loss as I am constantly switching between windows and mac on two different machines, so the use of the shift key is for me.

    However I can see the use for people who solely use macs - just as long as they don't make it standard lol.
     
  7. Interstella5555 macrumors 603

    Interstella5555

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    #7
    That still doesn't make sense, the shift key functions exactly the same way, we're talking about a shortcut that won't effect that functionality at all.
     
  8. stuaz macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    #8
    Yes it does make sense - I am saying that i switch between machines so if on one machine I dont have to click shift to put in caps or full stops and then i switch to a different machine it would annoy me.

    So for me PERSONALLY if this option existed I would not use it. :p
     
  9. Sairo thread starter macrumors regular

    Sairo

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Location:
    The Netherlands, Almere
    #9
    Windows and Mac user as well.
    Its not that I dont want to use the shift, I was just wondering if I could be lazy sometimes lol.
     
  10. skitzogreg macrumors 6502

    skitzogreg

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Location:
    Arkansas
    #10
    Can you imagine how crazy we would all go if hitting double space commands put in a period on our computers?
     
  11. Sairo thread starter macrumors regular

    Sairo

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Location:
    The Netherlands, Almere
    #11
    Not really. Do you press the spacebar that often my friend?
     
  12. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #12
    There are so many applications where I would not want this. Programming being one of them. Then I'd have to deal with the hassle of switching between regular mode and this lax mode. That would be on top of fact that I input multiple languages. What a mess that would be.

    If you're writing documents, there is a setting for it in Microsoft Word.

    Otherwise, I think you're just lazy.
     
  13. MaxPower72 macrumors 6502

    MaxPower72

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Location:
    Chicago, Illinois, Crooks County
    #13
    He means that a MBP shouldn't become an iToy. I never use all that iOS fluff they implemented on ML and I feel fine and I have an iPhone which I wouldn't like to have in my MBP.
     

Share This Page