Setup local Bitlbee server

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by jrock2004, Oct 3, 2011.

  1. jrock2004 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Location:
    PA
    #1
    So I installed via MacPorts, Biltbee. I created a plist -> ~/Library/LaunchDaemons/org.bitlbee.plist with the following content

    Code:
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
    <!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
        <plist version="1.0">
            <dict>
                <key>Label</key>
                <string>org.bitlbee</string>
                <key>ProgramArguments</key>
                <array>
                    <string>/opt/local/sbin/bitlbee</string>
                    <string>-I</string>
                    <string>-n</string>
                </array>
                <key>Sockets</key>
                <dict>
                    <key>Listeners</key>
                    <dict>
                        <key>SockNodeName</key>
                        <string>127.0.0.1</string>
                        <key>SockServiceName</key>
                        <string>6669</string>
                    </dict>
                </dict>
                <key>inetdCompatibility</key>
                <dict>
                    <key>Wait</key>
                    <false/>
                </dict>
            </dict>
        </plist>
    
    I rebooted my mac open irssi and do the following command

    Code:
    /connect localhost
    It says I am connected but a new channel does not open like it does on my Linux box. What am I doing wrong here? Thanks
     
  2. jrock2004 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Location:
    PA
    #2
    I am wondering if I need to change from inetd mode to something else in the config file. I am still not able to get this to work :(
     
  3. mnemonicj macrumors member

    mnemonicj

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Location:
    Hsinchu, Taiwan
    #3
    Hello mate.

    In case you or anybody else reading this still has this issue, to get this work just make sure you have the correct permissions set to the file you created in your LaunchAgents folder. If you can't figure this out, I suggest you make a copy of any file currently located in your "~/Library/LaunchAgents" folder and rename it to "mac.bitlbee.plist". Then copy the following text in the file you just created:

    Code:
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
      <!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC
                "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN"
                "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
      <plist version="1.0">
      <dict>
        <key>Label</key>
        <string>mac.bitlbee</string>
        <key>ProgramArguments</key>
        <array>
          <string>/opt/local/sbin/bitlbee</string>
          <string>-I</string>
          <string>-n</string>
        </array>
        <key>Sockets</key>
        <dict>
          <key>Listeners</key>
          <dict>
            <key>SockNodeName</key>
            <string>127.0.0.1</string>
            <key>SockServiceName</key>
            <string>6667</string>
          </dict>
        </dict>
        <key>inetdCompatibility</key>
        <dict>
          <key>Wait</key>
          <false/>
        </dict>
      </dict>
      </plist>
    
    You most probably have to do this as a super user. Logoff or reboot, launch irssi and bitlbee.

    Regards.
     
  4. dissdnt macrumors 65816

    dissdnt

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    #4
    I know this is an old thread but has anyone successfully installed Bitlbee on a Mac? I installed through home-brew but it never showed up when I go to run it.
     

Share This Page