Setup MBPs Power Button to enter Sleep Mode

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by doctoree, Aug 7, 2008.

  1. doctoree macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Location:
    Secret lair/ Earthmiddlepoint
    #1
    HI,
    is there a way to setup my MBP's Power Button to make the laptop directly and without opening additional windows enter sleep mode?
    Closing the lid to enter sleep mode is no solution because I'd like to avoid wear and tear.
    Doc
     
  2. bmcgrath macrumors 65816

    bmcgrath

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Location:
    London, United Kingdom
    #2
    Command Option Eject

    That puts the Mac to sleep
     
  3. andrewdale macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    #3
    I don't think that's exactly what the OP asked, but as far as I know, there is no other real answer!

    However, after some simple Googling (didn't go past the first page), I read that someone said if you push the power button, then, while holding down Option, push "Sleep," that it might do this permanently. They just didn't know how to change it back. So... risk trying it if you want to.
     
  4. doctoree thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Location:
    Secret lair/ Earthmiddlepoint
    #4
    Thank you guy's!

    I'll use bmcgrath's way of going to sleep. It's pretty elegant.
    Sorry for not searching google first!

    Doc
     
  5. madmaxmedia macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #5
    Bumping an old thread after I found a solution-

    http://db.tidbits.com/article/8702

    LOL, too bad my new 13 MBP doesn't support the 'powerbutton' parameter...
     
  6. sltyler1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Location:
    Wisc, USA
    #6
    using this on my now 13 MBP can someone tell me how to get this to work? it just comes up with options :(
     
  7. Irondon macrumors newbie

    Irondon

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2011
    Location:
    Parts Unknown
    #7
    You can set up a Hot Corner control to put it to sleep from the screen saver setting. That seems a little quicker and easier than holding down a combination of buttons.
     

Share This Page