Setup OSX Snow Leopard Server

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by weekendsrule32, Oct 12, 2009.

  1. weekendsrule32 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #1
    This is very hard for me to ask, as i like to think of myself as technically inclined, especially when it comes to macs. However, i just received my trial copy of OSX Snow Leopard Server, and am finding it rather difficult to setup. Aside from the documentation on apple's website, are their any good websites that explain the setup process, or if i were to give more detailed info, someone who could kind of push me in the right direction? Any help is appreciated. :D
     
  2. calderone macrumors 68040

    calderone

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle
    #2
    Try this:
    http://www.afp548.com/filemgmt_data/files/Leopard Server Quickstart Guide.pdf

    It is for Leopard, but will work mostly the same. The one thing that this guide recommends that has changed (I think) is the way you make the server a standalone server instead of an Open Directory Master.

    I can't remember exactly how I changed it during the setup, but just make sure before you finalize that it is a Standalone Server.

    This way, you can make sure your DNS is working the way you want. Then promote it to a Open Directory Master when you have everything right.

    You should have some idea about DNS before you get started, especially what you want to use as your domain.

    Good luck! If you need help, just post your question in this thread.
     
  3. weekendsrule32 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #3
    Thanks, that helped. But i have a problem. I have set up network user accounts on the server, with home directories on the server. But when i go to the log in window on a client machine, i see the user, type the password, it tries to log in, but then says sorry, and error had occurred. Any ideas?
     
  4. calderone macrumors 68040

    calderone

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle
    #4
    Just to be sure, you did bind the client machines to your OD server right?

    EDIT: Nevermind, you said you see the names. Typically that means the home directory is inaccessible. You created the share and set it to automount in server admin?
     
  5. weekendsrule32 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #5
    yah i created a "homes" folder on the drive, then shared that and set it to auto mount. I then created a home directory with in a sub folder in "homes" called family. would that have an effect?
     
  6. calderone macrumors 68040

    calderone

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle
    #6
    Is the Family folder where you want the shares?

    If so, you are doing nested shares. What you need to do is setup a group called family and add the users you want to that group. Then set the home folders up for that group.

    I am not at my server right now, but I will add to this when I get home. I think this is right though.

    So the home directory for a user in the Family group would be:

    afp://home.example.com/Homes/Family/username
     
  7. weekendsrule32 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #7
    I am still unable to access network accounts. any other ideas? Maybe the tutorial i followed was wrong. If anyone has a step by step on how they did it? Any help is appreciated.
     
  8. calderone macrumors 68040

    calderone

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle
    #8
    You are doing what is called nested home directories. This is covered in the guide I linked you to.

    If you aren't going to do groups, you simply need to add the nested path in WGM.

    EDIT: You can ignore the section for the groups, that is really just for organizational purposes. You just need to add Family in the section "Path to Folder" when editing the home directory for a user.

    EDIT2: You never answered my question as to whether or not you bound the computer to the OD server. Do you have DNS running properly? Did you add the DNS server address to the client machines? These are all key factors in troubleshooting the login problems.

    With the login window up, click on the name of your computer (or the date/time) whatever appears directly underneath Mac OS X in gray letters, keep clicking until you see a message about network account (better yet, you can manage this with MCX). Does it say network accounts are available? If not, you either a) didn't bind the machine to the server (You need to do this in Directory Utility) or b) your server is not accessible because of DNS or you don't have an active connection to your server.

    You need to give is more details about what you have done in order for me to help you. My guess is that you have missed some of the other steps that you need to do before you can login. I have 10.6 server running right now, so I can help you. I just need more information.
     
  9. weekendsrule32 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #9
    Just so you know, i fixed the problem. It seems the problem was that when i entered the full path for the home directories on the server, i used the full dns name example.example.com, instead of using the local name, example.local which is what i used when binding the machines since thats what came up as available. Simple mistake that caused big problem. Anyway, you mentioned you run 10.6 server. What do you use it for, as i am using an evaluation copy that ends at the end of november. I would just like to be able to experience all the features so i can make a better decision on whether to purchase or not. Thanks for your help. :D
     
  10. kevinsky macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    #10
    question

    hi, how could you change the FQDN (example.example.com) in the path to the local name (example.local)? i have the exacly same problem and was considering to reinstall the whole sever :rolleyes: i guess it would be a lot easier just to change the path. please help :)
    best regards and thanx a lot! kevinsky
     
  11. weekendsrule32 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #11
    where have you gotten so far in setting up the user accounts and home directories and such?
     

Share This Page