Setup Question

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by dfoster, May 22, 2013.

  1. dfoster macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    #1
    Hi, probably a stupid question but here goes: Just received Apple TV and my TV has numerous components hooked up. THere is an HDMI port on the TV but it is connected already to the satellite box (or the Bose sound box, or ??). How do I hook up Apple TV? Thanks.
     
  2. MrMike6by9 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #2
    You likely have more than a single HDMI port. Even my 4 year old cheap Visio has 3. I use one for the DVR and the second for the BluRay player. Your sound system might be connected to the DVR, for example. I have my ATV on the 3rd HDMI input. Cycle through the menu for your TV's inputs or better yet, crawl around the back.
    YMMV
     
  3. lunaoso macrumors 65816

    lunaoso

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #3
    You can always buy a HDMI switch from monoprice too.
     
  4. dfoster thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    #4
    Thanks Mike. Yes, there are like 6 inputs when I cycle through, but there seems to be only one HDMI port on the TV.

    Maybe a switch is easiest??
     
  5. linds15 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012
    Location:
    Great White North
    #5
    a switch is only necessary if you have an inadequate number of ports. when you say 6 inputs i assume you mean total, of the 6 how many are hdmi?
     
  6. dfoster thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    #6
    On the back of the TV there is only one HDMI port. There are lots of red/white/yellow coloured plugs.

    When I cycle through inputs on the TV setup, it says "1=tv, 2=dvd, 3=satellite, etc." ... there are 6.

    I am probably using confusing language!
     
  7. waw74 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    #7
    yellow/red/white = composite video (yellow) and stereo audio (red/white)
    those really won't help you with the aTV.

    you mention "bose sound box" there is a chance that has multiple HDMI ports on it.
    you would then use the bose box to change what you're watching on the TV.

    so both the satellite box and the aTV would wire to the inputs on the bose, and the output of the bose would go to the TV.

    if it doesn't you will need an HDMI switch check here for the listing at monoprice.
    also look at monoprice for your HDMI cables. you'll get them for much much cheaper than you would at best buy, and the quality will be the same.

    or depending on your TV, it sounds like it may not be full HD (possibly an older ED TV).
    in that case you could use composite video for your satellite box, and probably not see too much loss in video quality.
     
  8. dfoster thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    #8
    Thanks! I will check the Bose box tomorrow. Fingers crossed!
     
  9. Omne666 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #9
    Actually...is your satellite box HD? If not, move it to composite and plug the ATV into the hdmi.
     

Share This Page