"Setup User" login prompt after update

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by S8ER01Z, Jul 9, 2015.

  1. S8ER01Z, Jul 9, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2016

    S8ER01Z macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2015
    #1
    EDIT: Workaround


    When I upgraded to Beta 2 my machine booted to a login prompt for "Setup User". This user is not a local account nor is it a network account. After messing around for a while I powered off my iMac then powered it up again. This time it came up with the normal login prompt and everything was fine.

    When I upgraded to Beta 3 it happened again... anyone else have this issue?

    Radar #21745491

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Lowe Lilliehorn macrumors regular

    Lowe Lilliehorn

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2015
  3. S8ER01Z thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2015
    #3
    Duplicate of 21212482 (Open)

    Still an issue with Beta 6.
     
  4. SkatMonkey macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2015
    #4
    I had the same issue until I remembered the bootable usb i made for 10.10 was still plugged in. I removed it and rebooted. That seemed to work.
     
  5. S8ER01Z thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2015
    #5
    Yeah rebooting "fixes" the issue. No flash drive involved on my end. Still happens during updates including the latest 10.11.1 beta.
     
  6. bvbtricia macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2015
    #6
    This just happened to my macbook after updating it to the new os x el capitan!! I dont know what to do
     
  7. S8ER01Z thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2015
    #7

    Just hold down the power button until it shuts off and power it back on. I've had to do it after every update and so far have had zero issues afterwards.
     
  8. S8ER01Z, Oct 21, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2015

    S8ER01Z thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2015
    #8
    10.11.1 release today... same thing still happens. The 'duplicate' radar has been closed and of course I have no idea why.

    I did find a little more detail... but still no idea why it happens.

    10/21/15 3:20:28.457 PM loginwindow[557]: Shutdown | kLWDBLogLevel_Internal | -[SessionLogoutManager buildSessionDictionary] | final sessionDictionary:{
    GUID = "FFFFEEEE-DDDD-CCCC-BBBB-AAAA000000F8";
    GroupID = 248;
    GuestAccount = 0;
    HomeDirectoryPath = "/var/setup";
    LegacyFileVault = 0;
    LoginwindowPID = 557;
    UserID = 248;
    UserLongName = "Setup User";
    UserName = "_mbsetupuser";
    }


    Running the below command you will find this user on OS X 10.11...

    dscl.-list/UsersUniqueID | grep_mbsetupuser

    _mbsetupuser 248
     
  9. SynapticCleft macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    #9
    FYI: It still occurs when doing the update to 10.11.3. If you restart, it goes back to the proper login. Not optimal, but at least I am not stuck.
     
  10. S8ER01Z thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2015
  11. FortKnUX, Mar 22, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2016

    FortKnUX macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    #11
    Don't need to reboot, just press Control+Option+Command+Del keys and it will switch to full username/password prompt.
     
  12. SkatMonkey macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2015
    #12
    Sorry. Just tried this, since the latest update did it again, and no dice.
    No usb this time. Rebooting seams to consistently work.
     
  13. S8ER01Z thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2015
    #13
    Confirming doesn't work and issue still present in new beta release.
     
  14. drewsof07 macrumors 68000

    drewsof07

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    #14
    Confirmed: This is present in the public release of 10.11.4. I just got off the phone with a user who updated and was greeted by the Setup User screen.
     
  15. steveklein macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Location:
    Michigan
    #15
    This only works if you first put the insertion point in the password box. So, when you see "Setup User" screen, just press Option-Return to put the insertion point in the password box, then type Control-Option-⌘-Delete. I just ran into this problem, and this definitely worked.
     
  16. S8ER01Z thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2015
    #16

    Confirming this worked. THANK YOU!!!!!
     
  17. arpadkun macrumors newbie

    arpadkun

    Joined:
    May 2, 2016
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #17
    Thanks for the hint, for me the following worked (not delete, Enter at the end):

    Just press Option-Return to put the insertion point in the password box, then type Control-Option-⌘-Enter
     
  18. NixPix macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    #18
    Just got off a user with "Setup User". Problem was he had auto login enabled and Setup User was selected...
    His machine started and startup bar got to half and went black. Disconnected TB-connected dock, restarted and got a normal "select user" login window again. Deselected Startup User in Account window. Restarts are working again.
     
  19. UbuntuFu macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    #19
    Two of my users reported this problem to me yesterday.
     
  20. mteep macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    #20
    This happened to me also today when upgrading a Mac Pro to OS X 10.11.6. It was connected to NIS and I was logged in using a NIS account with a NFS home directory (non-mobile account on this machine) when I initiated the upgrade. However, my experience was slightly different.

    At first during the update, there was the usual black screen with a white Apple logo and a progress bar with 12 minutes estimated time left. I went away for a few (less than 10) minutes and when I came back it had rebooted into the normal login screen. I logged in again using the NIS account, but then got to the Apple logo update screen again, now saying 8 minutes remained. I'm not sure any OS update has ever behaved like that before. Usually, the progress bar shows up automatically after the reboot. After a while, I was presented with the "Setup User" login screen as mentioned above and in the developer forums (but with a flower avatar). The cancel button didn't help.

    At this point I hadn't found this post, only the one in the developer forums. So I tried to log in to the machine remotely using ssh and a local account. (I occasionally need to do this to reset the Open Directory cache after a machine sleep with a NIS user logged in.) This worked, and using the "w" command, I saw that my NIS user was fully logged in at the console and multiple Terminal.app windows. In addition, there was this _mbsetupuser also listed at the console.

    After checking a few things with Open Directory, I attempted to log out the _mbsetupuser. Since the "id" command revealed its user id to be 248 I tried this command line:

    sudo launchctl bootout gui/248/

    which worked. I immediately got the usual login screen back and could log in again.

    If this ever happens again, I will try the Control-Option-Command thing first. It probably triggers the same thing. A likely workaround to avoid this sort of thing is to avoid doing OS upgrades using a non-local account. Maybe I hadn't gotten the login prompt in the middle of the update if I had initiated it from a local account.
     
  21. S8ER01Z thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2015
    #21
    I moved off a network user and started using a local user on my machine and have not had the prompt since.
     
  22. hmark8 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    #22
    Surprisingly this is still and issue in 2017 on a brand new Mac. Restarting did fix the issue at least.

     
  23. S8ER01Z thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2015
    #23
    Sorry to hear that... I no longer have a network user and haven't experienced it since. Best of luck. It's annoying.
     
  24. drewsof07 macrumors 68000

    drewsof07

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    #24
    Has anyone noted whether this is an issue with or without mobile accounts when linked to an active directory?
    My users encountered this on machines without a mobile account enabled.
     

Share This Page