Sever Intel To PPC

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by yettimillan, Sep 8, 2011.

  1. yettimillan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    #1
    I've recently installed 10.4 onto a PPC. Im wondering if its possible to create a server, just for play I really have no need for it any other way.

    If I were to install 10.4 server onto my Intel MacBook can I use that as a server and link it to my PPC via and ethernet cable or airport?? If so I may also be able to do this for my old G3..

    If so how do I go about it?
     
  2. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    You cannot install an OS that is older than the computer that you want to install it on. Therefore, your question cannot be answered without first knowing the relative ages of the version of your OS and which MacBook you have. That saying, I will bet dollars to donuts that your computer is much newer than your copy of MacOS X 10.4 Server.
     
  3. yettimillan thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    #3
    I have a 2008 Intel 2.0GHz aluminum macbook and a 2003 PowerBook G4 1.25 GHz
     
  4. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #4
    Your MacBook shipped with MacOS X 10.5. You cannot install MacOS X 10.4 on it, period. As for your PowerBook, of course you can install MacOS X 10.4 Server on it. As for the G3, the G3 is not a computer. "G3" is Apple's name for a long-lived generation of IBM PowerPC processors. Some Apple computers incorporating these processors max-out at MacOS 9.1. Others will accept MacOS X 10.4.11. The latter, you can install MacOS X 10.4 Server on; the former, you can't.
     
  5. Waragainstsleep macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    I'm not convinced about 10.4, but if you can find 10.5 Server you could run a virtual version of that on your MacBook. That said, you might be able to do so with 10.4 Server I'm just not sure any virtualisation software will recognise/support it properly.
    If you have a virtual Server you can connect whatever clients you like to it over ethernet or Airport, you just have to know how to set up your networking properly. Its not really very complicated tbh.

    What services did you want the server to provide?
     

Share This Page