several q's including macbook refurb or new macbook?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by mike4him, May 19, 2010.

1. mike4him macrumors newbie

long time lurker first time post-er:

I thought this would be a good spot for my question/comment. I am a teacher so keep this in mind as you read. I am doing basic functions on the MB, heaviest work is using imovie.

Would you buy the just posted refurb (here) or the new macbook? I can wait until the BTS promotion begins.

As many have noted, the previous macbook simply seems to be sitting in the refurbished section of apple.com There it is $759.

The newer version is $949 for me (boo, not $899!). The newer generation doesn't seem worth the extra money to me. I don't need the extra battery life and the processor and video don't seem necessary for what I do.

I called my local apple store and they let me know that yes if I buy in the back-to-school time frame they will give me the freebies (assuming that happens). I had thought about getting an ipod touch already, but would prefer the 32gig to the 8gig (assuming they give the 8gig FAR). .

Does any one recall if they did discounts on the 32 or 64 gig touches for the BTS promotion?

If i buy the refurb now and save $190 (plus smaller amount of tax on total purchase price) that should be plenty to get me a touch from a re-seller this summer, correct?

thanks for your advice in advance.

2. ProstheticHead macrumors 6502

Honestly, ask yourself a couple questions:

Am I going to do anything that requires a stronger video chip? If you're buying a MacBook in the first place, my thoughts are no.

Am I going to need "up to 10 hours" of battery life? Or will "up to 7 hours" be fine? I have a MBP with a 5 hour battery, I never run out of battery.

Is 140MHz really worth that much more to me? 140MHz isn't a big speed boost by any means these days.