Several questions about Safari (password, removing plugins)

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by MercyInYou, May 11, 2010.

1. MercyInYou macrumors newbie

First of all, I am a newbie on this forum and in mac world so forgive me if I'm doing something wrong ;)

I bought my first MacBook three weeks ago and was using Firefox for the first two but then I decided to switch to Safari. I love it but I have a couple of questions/problems. I did google it but found mixed responses.

1) Safari sometimes doesn't save passwords, even does't ask me if I'd like to.
    2) this:
    [​IMG]
    It shows every time I launch Safari. I'm deleted Saft (used AppTrap) but looks like there are sill some files left. And I have no idea what to do with this SIMBL thing... Sorry for being such a noob! :)

Your help would be really appreciated!

2. MisterMe macrumors G4

MisterMe

You are running haxies like Saft and PithHelmet. These are among the top causes of problems in Safari. I recommend that you forgo haxies until you understand your system better.

3. MercyInYou thread starter macrumors newbie

I realize that I am apparently using them but I deleted all (I thought so, obviously not) the files. And the password problems occurred before I installed them so I'm still searching for solutions.

4. Gregg2 macrumors 603

1st step, go here:
    HD/Users/YourUserName/Library/Preferences/com.apple.keychainaccess.plist

Move that plist file to your Desktop.
    Restart (just to be sure - the reason is to create a new default plist file)
    Now try a site that you know had saved your password before. (confirm that before moving the plist)
    If that one doesn't work, put the plist file back (overwrite the new one) and try again to make sure it's back.
    If that does work, try a site that didn't work before. (again, test it out before starting this procedure)
    If that works, you can safely delete the plist you move to the Desktop.