Severe LCD Gradient Banding on UMBP

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by metroid87706, Apr 4, 2009.

1. metroid87706 macrumors regular

metroid87706

I have what I believe (in my eyes) is a severe LCD banding issue with my Unibody MacBook Pro 2.4GHz with a 9C85 display. The black line on the attached image is where I see the large band. I do not have the flickering that some uses have complained about though. The reason I check for the banding is because some images looks bad (pixelated in darker gradients) on my display, so I thought there may be an issue. This is a big deal to me, as I am a graphic and web designer, and color is crucial. So, what do you think?

Attached Files:

2. Mark2000 macrumors regular

Mark2000

Join the party. Its a 6-bit display like every other laptop screen on earth. Only shows 256k colors, there rest is done with software dithering. Makes gradients look like poop.

Shouldn't matter, if your a graphic designer and you're relying heavily on gradients you need to find another line of work. Gradients are so early 90s shareware games (yay VGA!).

3. metroid87706 thread starter macrumors regular

metroid87706

Well, my 2.2GHz "Classic" MacBook Pro didn't do that, and also, gradients are everywhere. They are NOT 90's, and they for sure have to do a lot with graphic design, so you don't need to be telling me to find something else to do for work.

4. Bubba Satori Suspended

Bubba Satori

:rolleyes:

5. ZigZagLens macrumors member

Has anyone found a good solution for this? Or we're just stuck with it and it's due to the dithering? I've got the same machine as you (basically) and this issue is really driving me bonkers.

6. CaptainChunk macrumors 68020

CaptainChunk