SHA1 Hash on InstallESD.dmg for Mountain Lion?

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by head honcho 123, Jul 25, 2012.

  1. head honcho 123 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    #1
    Can anyone run a SHA1 Hash check on the InstallESD.dmg file?

    Thanks!
     
  2. porotrico macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    #2
    I am also waiting for the same. It is curious that nobody has replied yet. There must be zillon people out there with ML installed from Mac App Store. :-/

    I would perform SHA1 myself, if I would receive free ML redemption code. Still waiting for it. More than 24 hours.
    I was told to wait at least 72 hours. :-(
     
  3. appletechpro macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    #3
    Wow people, seriously? Not one of you can perform a hash check?

    I'm still waiting on my code as well...
     
  4. Gi0 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2012
  5. JohnDoe98 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    #5
    Maybe if you told people how to do it they would be more willing to help. Anyway, I'm trying to get it for you using the terminal command openssl sha1, when I have a result I'll post it.

    Update: e5dd2bf5560033cade7dd7d7da5ceec49f701b0e
     
  6. appletechpro macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    #6
    Thanks.
     
  7. porotrico, Jul 27, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2012

    porotrico macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    #7
    Thank you. Please, one more clarification - is it from "retail" version of the InstallESD.dmg released at Mac App Store on Wednesday this week around 6 AM PST? ;)
     
  8. JohnDoe98 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    #8
    Yes, it's from the MAS.
     
  9. porotrico macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    #9
    Great, John. Thank you very much for your help.
    Enjoy your Mountain Lion. :)
     
  10. mickrussom macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    #10
    OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion InstallESD.dmg md5 sha hash

    ls -alsF InstallESD.dmg
    8492616 4348218934 Jul 25 17:20 InstallESD.dmg

    MD5 (InstallESD.dmg) = 8b4869920cd740414fe6b7e3f0b1be3e

    SHA1 (InstallESD.dmg) = e5dd2bf5560033cade7dd7d7da5ceec49f701b0e

    keywords:
    OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion InstallESD.dmg md5 sha hash
     
  11. Mr. Retrofire macrumors 601

    Mr. Retrofire

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    www.emiliana.cl/en
    #11
    Yes ML from the App Store has this SHA-1 checksum:
    openssl sha1 /Applications/Install\ OS\ X\ Mountain\ Lion.app/Contents/SharedSupport/InstallESD.dmg
    SHA1(/Applications/Install OS X Mountain Lion.app/Contents/SharedSupport/InstallESD.dmg)= e5dd2bf5560033cade7dd7d7da5ceec49f701b0e

    I used Apples Up-To-Date program:
    http://www.apple.com/osx/uptodate/
     
  12. jprokos, Dec 29, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2012

    jprokos macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    #12
    Apple customizing InstallESD.dmg for location?

    I downloaded Mac OS X 10.8.2 from Apple App Store while in Nepal after choosing USA as location for App Store (bank account and mailing address are in the USA). Entering this SHA1 in Google Search I get hits from Germany, China, Russia and Poland. While I understand that different servers will host the software, I don't understand why the DMG would be built differently depending on your region.

    $ openssl sha1 /Applications/Install\ OS\ X\ Mountain\ Lion.app/Contents/SharedSupport/InstallESD.dmg
    SHA1(/Applications/Install OS X Mountain Lion.app/Contents/SharedSupport/InstallESD.dmg)= eaf54b1b1a630af85547fed8eabbf6fe159f2b42
     
  13. bridgeridoo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    #13
    @ jprokos - That's the SHA1 I have for 10.8.2:
    eaf54b1b1a630af85547fed8eabbf6fe159f2b42

    The hash listed above is for 10.8.0, I'm pretty sure:
    e5dd2bf5560033cade7dd7d7da5ceec49f701b0e

    For those wanting to know, you can find the SHA1 hash by opening Terminal, typing 'shasum' xxxxxxxx

    (you can drag the file xxxxxx into terminal, make sure there is a space)
     

Share This Page