Share ethernet to router?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by iModFrenzy, May 30, 2016.

  1. iModFrenzy macrumors 6502a

    iModFrenzy

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Location:
    Lead The Way!
    #1
    Okay so i have a iMac Core 2 Duo,GMA 950 2006. The iMac works great, no issues whatsoever but I have no where to put it for the time being so I stuck it on my dresser.

    Anyway, to the point, now I have a router that I am not using and my iMac get perfect signal in a bad part of my house so I thought, hey why not use that to extend signal?. So I turned on ethernet sharing and plugged the router in to the ethernet ports but no luck. It is getting no connection to the router.

    Is there something I am doing wrong?

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. komatsu macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    #2
    sorry iMod but I don't understand any of your question :(

    You can get internet on your iMac but you want to extend that signal somewhere else?

    Where is your router? Is it in the same room as your iMac?
     
  3. iModFrenzy thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iModFrenzy

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Location:
    Lead The Way!
    #3
    It's fine!

    Yea I can get internet on my iMac through wifi, but my phone doesn't nor does my laptop. So I wanted to share this internet with the iMac, by connecting a router to it(Ethernet port on my iMac) because I know you can't share wifi signals and be connected to wifi at the same time.
     
  4. komatsu macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    #4
    If you have a wireless router that should send out a signal to which multiple
    devices can connect to.

    Forget about the sharing WiFi setting on your iMac, that is the job of a router (to share WiFi).

    Is there any reason you CANNOT connect your phone etc. to your wireless router?
     
  5. Fishrrman macrumors G5

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #5
    Even if you use the wireless router, I suggest that you keep the iMac on the WIRED ethernet connection, if it's available. Even if you have to run a short ethernet cable across the room. It will run faster that way.

    Also, if you already have -another- router downstairs, I would suggest that you configure the upstairs router so that "NAT" (network address translation) is TURNED OFF. In other words, put it into "bridge mode" so that you don't run into "double NAT" problems.

    You only want NAT active on the router that's "closest to the net". That does the job.
     
  6. HenryAZ, Jun 1, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2016

    HenryAZ macrumors 6502

    HenryAZ

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Location:
    South Congress AZ
    #6
    Take your ethernet cable that you have where your iMac and extra router are, and cable the router, and then extend your existing Wi-fi network to that router, by bridging it. Make the Wi-fi settings on the second router identical to the existing Wi-fi, e.g., same network name (SSID), same security (WPA2, hopefully), same PSK (pre-shared key, or password). Make sure you disable the routing and DHCP functions of this second router, as apparently those functions are being done for your network by your main router.

    Now you have your extended Wi-fi network, using the best method possible. Then, take another ethernet cable and run it from this second router to your iMac. Presumably (hopefully) the second router has a small number of switch ports on it.
     
  7. iModFrenzy thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iModFrenzy

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Location:
    Lead The Way!
    #7
    This router does not support WPA2-PSK(Think that's what its called). I have tried many times to turn it into a repeater/extender. No luck. There is also no ddr firmware for my router(WGRv9? Forget the name atm.)

    I can't really run a ethernet cable throughout my house at the moment. This would be temporary for the time being. I just need the iMac to repeat the signal. I appreciate the help everyone. Also this a 54mbp G router, nothing fancy and pretty old now but good enough for my use(Good for the old laptops I use with G-Only wifi cards).

    Is there really no way to share my internet to this router?

    Like this [Wifi router base] ---> iMac -(connected through ethernet port)---> router to repeat signal.
     

Share This Page