Share HD and printer with AE across 2 networks?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by rdowns, Dec 30, 2008.

  1. rdowns macrumors Penryn

    rdowns

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    #1
    I have 2 networks set up in my house. I use an AE base station for an 'n' network and I have an Express bridged for 'b/g'. If I connect a printer and hard drive to the AE base station, will I be able to access those peripherals from devices on the 'b/g' network?
     
  2. firestarter macrumors 603

    firestarter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2002
    Location:
    Green and pleasant land
    #2
    Answer is yes.

    If you've bridged, rather than created a new network (did you select bridge or network address translation in the setup screen?) then the b/g stuff should be on the same subnet as the n stuff, and bonjour should find it.
     
  3. rdowns thread starter macrumors Penryn

    rdowns

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    #3
    Thanks for the reply.

    I'm almost positive they're bridged as that was how I was instructed to do it. The networks do have 2 different names though.
     
  4. firestarter macrumors 603

    firestarter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2002
    Location:
    Green and pleasant land
    #4
    Two different names is fine.
     
  5. aristobrat macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #5
    Two different doors to the same house, basically.
     

Share This Page