Share Internet between PS2 and MacBook Pro?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by FF_productions, Apr 28, 2007.

  1. FF_productions macrumors 68030

    FF_productions

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Location:
    Mt. Prospect, Illinois
    #1
    Is it possible?

    I'd like to play online while having the PS2 connected via ethernet to the MacBook Pro while it picks up internet via Airport to my wireless router.

    This would be so convenient if I could do this!
     
  2. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    I wouldn't see why it wouldn't be possible you might need a router with 2+ ethernet ports but still it should be doable.
     
  3. FF_productions thread starter macrumors 68030

    FF_productions

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Location:
    Mt. Prospect, Illinois
    #3
    The router (Netgear) has 4-5 ethernet ports, one connecting to the cable modem, one connecting to a PC.

    I took the cord that is connected to the PC and connected my MacBook Pro to the PS2.

    I turned on Internet sharing in system preferences and it does not work when I try playing online.
     
  4. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #4
    I don't have a PS2, but this is what I think is the issue:

    What ports does the PS2 need open in order to function? As far as I know, internet sharing from OS X does not easily permit you to provide access to more than Port 80 for the shared device(s). So if you need ports other than 80 (the standard http port), then the device will not work.
     
  5. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    why not plug the PS2 into the router? That should work.
     
  6. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #6
    I'm guessing, in spite of the lack of eloquence heretofore, that the reason is that the router is too far away from the PS2.

    Even if you plug into the router, you will probably have to specifically place the PS2 in the DMZ or forward ports to it.
     
  7. FF_productions thread starter macrumors 68030

    FF_productions

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Location:
    Mt. Prospect, Illinois
    #7
    I'll just stick with plugging it directly into the router.

    The router is in the living room, while I'm trying to play in my room so I don't have to hog the TV from my parents when I got friends over and we are playing some Madden/FIFA 07 online.
     
  8. Episteme macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    #8
    You need to bridge the LAN port to the wifi.

    There's a guide here that explain how to do that.
     
  9. FF_productions thread starter macrumors 68030

    FF_productions

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Location:
    Mt. Prospect, Illinois
    #9
    I'll give it a try
    Thanks
     

Share This Page