Share N and G with WDS

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by wesg, Aug 10, 2009.

  1. wesg macrumors regular

    wesg

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    #1
    Here's a list of networking gear I have in my house:
    - Airport Extreme Gigabit
    - Airport Express G
    - Airport Express N

    For a while, I had the Express G linked with WDS to my Extreme. A few weeks ago I picked up an Express N, which is now the main relay in my network. But the new Express uses a different method for WDS than the older G model. I've tried many things, but I can't get all 3 devices to play nice with one another.

    Any suggestions?
     
  2. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #2
    does it?? i dont have one but i presume that it will still be the same process and they would all be compatible (but running at 802.11g speeds)
     
  3. jeenyusboy5 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    #3
    This is a little off topic but I am just wonder if you were able to secure your wds network when it was working?
     
  4. SqB macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Location:
    Northern Colorado
    #4
    I don't think you can do WDS on N only network. Mine loose the WDS option when I put them in N only. Probaply has something to do with the 5 ghz.
     
  5. Donar macrumors 6502

    Donar

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Germany
    #5
    The question are:
    What are the different devices capable of?
    What have you set them to b/g/n/AllOfIt?
    What exactly does and does not work?

    I have set up a WDS Network between a AEBS Dualband set to b/g and n and a AEBS (Gigabit) that can only use g or n (it is set to b/g) my Network uses WPA2 encryption - no problem here.
     

Share This Page