share screen with windows?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by twoodcc, Apr 29, 2009.

  1. twoodcc macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #1
    can i take over my mac screen from windows 7? like with remote desktop or something?
     
  2. Roy Hobbs macrumors 68000

    Roy Hobbs

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    #2
    VNC should do the trick
     
  3. twoodcc thread starter macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #3
    okay. but it won't work quite like screen sharing in leopard does i guess
     
  4. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #4
    turn on VNC sharing in the system prefs>sharing>remote management. hit the "options" button and tick "allow VNC .....".

    download a VNC viewer (TightVNC is alright) and then type in the IP of your mac. you could also use a mac VNC server (vine is probs the best) and that will work for you too
     
  5. twoodcc thread starter macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #5
    thanks! i'll try that out. but nothing built into windows 7 that i can use?
     
  6. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #6
    thats whats the VNC viewer is for (Tight VNC or similar). ;)
     
  7. twoodcc thread starter macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #7
    ok i gotcha. macs use VNC, while windows use another protocol, right?
     
  8. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #8
    haha no no silly, VNC is a universal protocol. windows, mac, unix, linux, they are all compatible. (kinda like TCP i guess, but in a different field)
     
  9. twoodcc thread starter macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #9
    right, but VNC does not work out of the box in windows. but windows does have a remote desktop app or whatever (can't remember what it's called) that uses a different protocol. i think
     
  10. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #10
    yes thats correct. windows Remote Desktop doesnt support the VNC protocol (windows has to be different and make their own - apparently its quite fast but ive never had two PC's to test it on).
     
  11. twoodcc thread starter macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #11
    yeah i've used it when i was at college, and it seemed much faster than screen sharing on my macs
     
  12. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #12
    are your macs sharing via wireless and at collega was via ethernet?

    using apples Remote Desktop and whatever protocol they use i hardly see any lag - this is with ethernet - at full quality.

    but meh idk.
     
  13. twoodcc thread starter macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #13
    both on wireless. and yes, there is like no lag with windows. but oh well
     
  14. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #14
    how odd, windows might use a lower bitrate or something, or maybe theyve coded it better (shock horror)!

    goodluck with it all!!!
     

Share This Page