Share your multiple monitor iMac setup

Discussion in 'iMac' started by SuperMiguel, Jul 12, 2012.

  1. SuperMiguel macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    #1
    Here is mine: 2011 27" iMac and 2x Dell U2410
    [​IMG]
     
  2. Ddyracer macrumors 68000

    Ddyracer

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    #2
    Nice, i see you removed the stand. And putting the display vertically looks cool :cool:
     
  3. kylera macrumors 65816

    kylera

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Location:
    Seoul
    #3
    What is it like to use monitors in such an orientation? Does the difference in height not bother you?

    Not intended to troll, genuinely curious.
     
  4. Lancer macrumors 68020

    Lancer

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Australia
    #4
    Can I ask how you get the screens to work like that, is there a setting in OS X to re-orientate them?
     
  5. theluggage macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    #5
    Can I ask how you're interfacing the Dells to the tbolt/MDP ports on the iMac?

    i.e. MiniDP-to-DP cables, basic MiniDP-to-DVI, or Mini-DP-to-Dual Link DVI?

    I've been tempted by the U2410 for my tbolt MacBook Pro, but I've been burnt by a MiniDP-to-DP cable that doesn't work properly on my HP 24" and am unclear whether the regular single-link DVI adapter will drive a display at 2560x1440...
     
  6. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #6
    Yes, in display settings.
     
  7. ChristianJapan macrumors 601

    ChristianJapan

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Location:
    日本
    #7
    iMac 27" with 24"ACD attached on e right side;

    an 24" EIZO also in portrait mode on the left; sometime connected via USB graphic converter (quite slow); nowadays its mainly the monitor for the MacMini

    right now no picture; too messy :eek:
     
  8. SuperMiguel thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    #8
    it wont, you need to get the dual-link dvi cable

    but the u2410 doesnt go to 2560x1440 it goes to 1920x1200 which a single link dvi does work

    ----------

    first few hours i was link dam WTF, then i got used to it and i love it...

    I code alot.. and i like see 149 lines instead of 8x
     
  9. Imaginethe macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    Ah when I get a 27inch Mac I will be keeping one of my current monitors which is in portrait. I find having a monitor in portrait is so much easier to work on, than 2 landscape one's.
     
  10. theluggage macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    #10
    Ah, sorry I thought you were using the 27" Dell (D'oh! the '24' in the model number should have tipped me off. New brain please :))
     
  11. talmy macrumors 601

    talmy

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Location:
    Oregon
    #11
    27" iMac and Dell 2001FP monitor (20", 1600x1200, 8 years old). Keyboard is ~23 year old Northgate OmniKey/102.

    [​IMG]
     
  12. SuperMiguel thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    #12
    Nice keyboard =)
     
  13. Lancer macrumors 68020

    Lancer

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Australia
    #13
    Thanks, now I have a use for my 21.5 full HD LG when I eventually get rid of my G5. I'd just need a new stand is I use it in portrait mode.
     
  14. mixel macrumors 65816

    mixel

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    #14
    Does anyone else get the thing where if you have a monitor in portrait mode then videos played on it go strangely choppy? When you drag them back to the main screen, or have it in landscape it doesn't happen. I've had the same thing on both a 2008 8800GS iMac and the 2011 6770M one. Very annoying.

    I'm trying my Samsung monitor above my 24" iMac atm, as all the confusion over which screen to do what on and moving my head back and forth, as well as posture issues, i'm looking for alternatives to side by side. If this doesn't work out I'll try just the iMac display.. I haven't done that in years though. I need to tidy up before photos!
     
  15. omvs macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    #15
    I just rotated my 20" Dell (1600x1200) to 90deg, and video seems fine playing on it, both when I have the 27" set to primary or the 20". In contrast to your setup I have the 6970M card on my iMac, but I can't imagine the 6770 is any worse. My setup is using 10.7.4 - you running 10.6...?
     
  16. mixel macrumors 65816

    mixel

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    #16
    Thanks for that, glad to hear it's not normal. I'm running 10.8, but the same happened for me in 10.7.x. I wonder if it's something to do with the display itself then. Or maybe some software I'm always running. Curious! I'll troubleshoot a bit more. :)
     
  17. Identity Fraud macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    #17
    Actually I do this at work, the vertical monitor is awesome for reading webpages.
     
  18. mober macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    #18
    My 27 inch iMac (mid 2010) at work. flanked by 2 x 24 inch Samsung's. One's connecte via usa adapter. Almost 8 mio pixel =)
     

    Attached Files:

  19. SuperMiguel thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    #19
    Nice
     
  20. dearlaserworks macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012
    Location:
    Eastern Shore, USA
    #20
    How long does it take you to walk from the first to the third display?
     
  21. SuperMiguel thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
  22. peeaanuut macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    Southern California
    #22
    sorry if reviving old threads is a nono. Just got my new desk set-up and wanted to show it off. Nothing major. 21.5" 2011 iMac to a 22" viewsonic external with iPad1 as side pallet monitor and then my old blackbook cause it fills the desk. I am still working on getting all the external HDD set-up and deciding if I need the USB HUB and what not.

    [​IMG]
     
  23. Lucianrider macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Location:
    St. Lucia, West Indies
    #23
    The ipad is actually connected to your Mac??
    If so, what do you use it for??

    Here is my late 2011 21.5" i7 iMac with HP 22" monitor...
    I keep the HP monitor mainly for running Windoze 7 via Parallels....

    [​IMG]
     
  24. peeaanuut macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    Southern California
    #24
    iPad is connected using air display. I use it for pallets in photoshop as well as status screens, etc. Sometimes its just to look cool. lol
     
  25. lukekjones macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Location:
    Worcester, UK
    #25
    Mober

    Which USB device are you using, does it still work with Mountain Lion. I am looking to add a 3rd monitor to my 2010 iMac.
     

Share This Page