Shared iPhone / iPad data only, or cheap iPhone 3GS data only plans?

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by phonepad, Jan 1, 2012.

1. phonepad macrumors newbie

Hi everyone,

Summary: I have an inherited iPhone 3GS with no data or voice plan, no contract (ex-AT&T phone, was upgraded to new 4S), fresh install, and an iPad 2. I would like to use around 500mb - 2GB of data a month on both devices combined. I would like to use the iPhone 3GS as an emergency 911 phone. I live in America, in Southern California. What's my best plan?

Background: I inherited the iPhone 3GS from my wife, bought the iPad new. I'm a programmer, so I don't mind setting up complicated installs, but I've never had a cell phone, so I don't know how plans work and what is available. My only phone number / phone line is Skype (and Google voice) and I'm perfectly happy with that. I'd like to be able to make Skype calls over 3G on the iPhone 3GS. I live in Southern California, and I find AT&T 3G coverage to be quite good in the areas I frequent, so I am happy enough with that (though would consider anything, and would love to ditch AT&T due to hilariously poor customer service).

Thank you for your help. I did do extensive searches on this topic over the last few months, but I just can't figure out the current lay of the land. I really thought this would be something I could figure out on my own, but getting current, accurate information has been frustrating.

Questions:

Plans: I would like basic email and the occasional Skype call from my iPhone 3GS and iPad 2. I could get by with 500mb a month total on both devices. What is my best option for a plan? Is there any way I can get a combined plan? I don't mind paying $25 for the 2GB from ATT, but I don't want to pay $50 or $55 to have data on both devices.

Sharing: Can I tether iPad to iPhone or vice-versa?