Sharing 3G through iPad to computer?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by Rob.G, Sep 7, 2010.

  1. Rob.G macrumors 6502

    Rob.G

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Location:
    NW Oregon
    #1
    Is it possible to share the 3G connection (I'm on the actual Unlimited plan) on the iPad through to another computer? Even if you have to jailbreak it? I never upgraded past 3.2.1 so jailbreaking is still an option.

    Rob
     
  2. Zcott macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Location:
    Belfast, Ireland
    #2
    Jailbreak and install mywi, which will create a mobile wifi hotspot which your computer can join.
     
  3. mrathee macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    #3
    mywi, tetherme, etc etc

    you need to create a wireless hotspot for other devices to connect to.
     
  4. Rob.G thread starter macrumors 6502

    Rob.G

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Location:
    NW Oregon
    #4
    Thanks!

    Jailbreak went fine... went to Cydia store, installed MiWi 4.0. It installed itself, then wanted to reboot Springboard. It's been sitting on the Apple logo with the spinning thing for the last 15 min.

    Is it dead, Jim?

    Rob
     
  5. Rob.G thread starter macrumors 6502

    Rob.G

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Location:
    NW Oregon
    #5
    Still doing it. It's dead.

    Went into iTunes to restore but it's talking about updating it the latest software (guessing 3.2.2) which I don't want.

    Rob
     
  6. nateo200 macrumors 68030

    nateo200

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Location:
    Northern District NY
    #6
    Not sure how to fix your issue but I would wait for someone to help you before you do anything.
     
  7. larock macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    #7
    I would try this...


    1. Locate both the "Hold" button at the top of the iPad and the "Home" button, located underneath the screen when the iPad is held in vertical orientation.

    2. Hold both buttons down until you see the iPad screen flash and turn black.

    3. Depress the "Hold" button on top to restore power to the device.
     
  8. azentropy macrumors 68000

    azentropy

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    Surprise
    #8
    If you need to restore you can still restore with 3.2.1. Get the firmware from iClarified. Google "iPad Firmware iClarified"
     
  9. Rob.G thread starter macrumors 6502

    Rob.G

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Location:
    NW Oregon
    #9
    Bingo! Thanks larock!

    It took a while once I powered it back on (close to ten minutes) but it came back up and has been working fine since. I'm so glad I didn't have to Restore it; I have like 54 gig of data on there; it'd take a while to put all that back.

    Rob
     
  10. bigddybn macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    #10
    He will have needed to back up SHSH before hand which if he just jailbroke then it's too late now.
     

Share This Page