Sharing a printer from other computer to my MBP

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Dan73, Sep 15, 2009.

  1. Dan73 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    #1
    I still can't figure this out.

    I have a printer connected to my desktop running Windows 7 and have it set up to share the printer but on my Mac when I go to add a printer and click the Windows tab, everything is grayed out and nothing shows up.
     
  2. Tex-Twil macrumors 68020

    Tex-Twil

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Location:
    Europe
    #2
    Hi,
    in the Add Printer window, try to select the "Default" tab.


    Screen shot 2009-09-15 at 10.09.43 PM.png
     
  3. Dan73 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    #3
    It looks exactly like that, nothing shows up.

    Sorry if I wasn't 100% clear before but I want to be able to print over my network to the printer thats attached to my desktop running Windows 7, from my MacBook.

    Both the Default and Windows tabs show nothing and don't let me do anything.
     
  4. cbmac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    #4
    Printers not printing

    Hi Dan, I'm new to Macs and have a similar problem. I have a LAN with Toshiba running XP and a Mac running OS X with a printer attached to each one. Both printers show up when I click "print"'. Then nothing happens when I select either one and click print again. On one try the file did go to the queue, but would not print. Both printers indicate either ready or idle. Any suggestions anyone?
     
  5. Dan73 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    #5
    Thing is I don't even see my printer :(

    I'm wondering if its because its Windows 7. Before someone flames me or anything I purchased Win7 from my school so its a legit copy.
     
  6. Tex-Twil macrumors 68020

    Tex-Twil

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Location:
    Europe
    #6
    I have nothing against windows ;)

    Do you have another PC with windows to see if you can access the printer from it ?

    Tex
     
  7. Emp123 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    #7
    My issue is fairly similar to yours, well, actually, I think my issue is a result of me being a couple steps ahead of you.

    To install my printer connected to my Windows 7 PC I had to add an advanced tab to the Add Printer window (control click and drag the Advanced tab over to the Add Printer window).

    After doing this under Type I selected Windows and in the url pane I added my Windows 7 smb location (I used the name of my computer so for me it was smb://Emp123-PC).

    Then in the Print Using pulldown menu I selected Select Printer Software... and selected my printer.

    When I went to print it asked me to log into my Windows computer using my account name and password and hopefully this will be the end of the issues for you.

    As for me, when I got to this stage my printer would send the information to my Windows 7 computer (or it appears to anyway) but nothing prints and nothing shows up in the print queue on the Windows 7 computer (Im not sure if this is supposed to happen or what). Any help getting my printer to actually print stuff would be wonderful.
     
  8. Rozee macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Location:
    Astoria, NY
    #8
    Hey Dan73


    I have a desktop with winXp and a MBP, I put an airport express router on and I'm able to print from anywhere in the house on my Mac. Maybe you can try this and keep the setup you have now with your pc
     
  9. serialtoon macrumors 6502a

    serialtoon

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Location:
    Long Beach
    #9
    Hey guys. I finally got this damn thing to work. Im using SL. So unless its not SL, your mileage may vary. So What i would do is EVERYTHING that Emp123 just noted. But when it comes to this part...
    I selected Windows and in the url pane I added my Windows 7 smb location (I used the name of my computer so for me it was smb://Emp123-PC).

    Make sure you add the printer name to it....for example i have a HP C3100 printer that i named C3100 in my sharing settings on windows. So it would look like this
    smb://serialtoon-PC/C3100
    After that. It will ask for your windows pc password, after you enter it correctly. It will print :-D. Enjoy.
     

Share This Page