sharing (ethernet) internet over second gigabit port

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by msvadi, May 17, 2014.

  1. msvadi macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    #1
    Hi,

    I would like to use wired internet connections in my office with an iMac to which I will be soon adding a Mac Pro. Unfortunately, there is only one data point in my office. If the fist gigabit port on the Mac Pro is connected to the data point, can I use the second gigabit port to share internet with the iMac?

    If this setup works, would it be possible to connect via ssh to both Mac Pro and iMac? I would really like to have this ability.

    Thanks
     
  2. lemonade-maker macrumors 6502

    lemonade-maker

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
  3. msvadi thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    #3
    Thanks. Is it because of SSH or sharing over the sec on ethernet port is not possible?
     
  4. Flint Ironstag macrumors 6502a

    Flint Ironstag

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2013
    Location:
    Houston, TX USA
    #4
    you can do this

    - system preferences
    - internet sharing
    - share connection from ethernet 1 to ethernet 2

    Done.
     
  5. msvadi thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    #5
    Thanks, this is helpful and sounds very easy.

    How about SSH? Would it be possible to SSH to the iMac from a remote computer? (the iMac will be using shared internet connection from the Mac Pro).
     
  6. msvadi thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    #6
    It looks like there is no GUI interface for port forwarding in OS X, but I found a couple of possible solutions (a script and third party software):

    http://www.cyberciti.biz/faq/howto-configure-macosx-as-nat-router/
    http://www.hanynet.com/icefloor/

    Icefloor software seems pretty cool, may be I won't need a router.
     
  7. Flint Ironstag macrumors 6502a

    Flint Ironstag

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2013
    Location:
    Houston, TX USA
    #7
    Yes. Also in System Preferences, Sharing. Enable "Remote Management".
     
  8. msvadi thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    #8
    I don't follow. As far as I understand, to SSH to computers behind a router, one needs to setup port forwarding (in the router) since they all share the same public IP. Do you mean that there is port forwarding interface somewhere in Remote Management? Or that there are other means of directing SSH traffic to the right computer?
     
  9. Flint Ironstag macrumors 6502a

    Flint Ironstag

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2013
    Location:
    Houston, TX USA
    #9
    Ah, you want to hit this iMac from outside the LAN as well. Would be easiest to:

    - get a static IP from your ISP
    - get a proper router and / or switch at the iMac location
    - ??
    - profit

    If you're so inclined you can dig into ipfw man pages and set up the forwarding. Unless you really want to learn the ins and outs of routing and port forwarding, I'd go with what I suggested.
     
  10. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #10
    There isn't. You don't need to enable Remote Management.
     

Share This Page