Home Sharing homekit settings - do you need a hub?

Discussion in 'HomeKit, HomePod, CarPlay, Home & Auto Technology' started by SidBoggle, Sep 17, 2016.

  1. SidBoggle macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    Bucks, UK
    #1
    Hi, I have just set up a few Hue lights around the house and eveything is working brilliantly with homekit and the new ios 10 Home app/control center. I tried to invite my wife to share the setup and her home app/control center all gets updated with the lights but every light says "no response" underneath.

    I tried lots of different things and then wondered if you need a hub for sharing your homekit setup. So I set up my ipad as a hub and everything now works! So my question is do you actually need a hub set up to share your setup? In all the apple guides I could not see this mentioned anywhere. It is not ideal as I do not have an Apple TV and this hub setup will only work when i have the ipad sitting at home.

    Has anyone else successfully shared their setup without a hub? Thanks.
     
  2. ksaipas macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2015
    #2
    I am having the same problem with the only difference being that I have not setup my iPad as a hub. As such my wife's home app lists all hue bulbs as unresponsive.
     
  3. matthijst macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
  4. SidBoggle thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    Bucks, UK
    #4
    I'm glad it is not just me. You might want to try switching your iPad to a hub in Settings->Home (iOS 10 only I believe) and see if that also fixes your issue. I'm still confused if this whole thing is supposed to work like this - I'd like to know a bit more about what happens behind the scenes when you share your HomeKit setup.
     
  5. SidBoggle thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    Bucks, UK
    #5
    So that blows the whole hub solution out of the water...... it's a bit of a black box this whole HomeKit malarkey.
     
  6. matthijst macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    #6
    Hue tweeted that their app needs an update.
    Should be out soon.
     
  7. SidBoggle thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    Bucks, UK
    #7
    Thanks. That's interesting - did they provide a link or any more info? Still I will cope with my iPad hub setup until they roll that out and we will see if it helps us.
     
  8. matthijst macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    #8
  9. GreyOS macrumors 68030

    GreyOS

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    #9
    When I experimented with it during the beta using an unofficial bridge for LIFX bulbs, I did not need a hub to share. Can't speak for how it works now though
     
  10. SidBoggle thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    Bucks, UK
    #10
    Thanks for the input everyone. Hue released an update for the software and the bridge today and sharing now works without the bridge.
     
  11. GreyOS macrumors 68030

    GreyOS

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    #11
    just to clarify for my own understanding, do you mean an update to their bridge so it works without a hub? or do you not need their bridge any more?
     
  12. SidBoggle thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    Bucks, UK
    #12
    Yes there is a firmware update to the hue bridge. I have now disabled my HomeKit hub on my iPad and the sharing still works okay.
     

Share This Page