Sharing the iPad?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by Tsuchiya, Jul 12, 2011.

1. Tsuchiya macrumors 68020

Tsuchiya

(FYI before anyone jumps in with their assumptions, I'm not a parent who is fed up of their kids hogging their new toy, I'm a college student, I work part time to pay for this stuff, and I live at home with my parents and siblings (of a similar age))

Heres my situation: I love my iPad. I use it all the time at home, and manage to quite comfortably fit it in my life alongside my phone and laptop. I read on there, do some light typing, web browse, watch video etc. All in all, my iPad is MY personal device. I store my own things on there have it linked to my email accounts etc.

Trouble is, my family also LOVE my iPad. If it put it down for a moment, it's gone. If I use it downstairs, someone pesters me to use it. When I leave it downstairs for all to use (I don't take it to work with me), I come home exhausted and find it in someones hands (usually my brothers), and when I finally get it back, I usually have less then 5% battery life left and there are food smear marks on the screen.

I personally don't think this situation is too great, while I'm happy to share to an extent, I don't want to have to wrestle over my own iPad!

So I'm thinking about buying another one for everyone to use. Good idea? Bad idea? Do I just need to put my foot down here? Anyone had similar experiences? How did you deal with it:confused::confused::confused:

edit: I should also mention that this has been happening since the 2010 release of the original iPad. I hardly ever got to use it, and when I replaced it with the iPad 2 a few months back, I started trying to keep it to myself (still failing!)

2. Intell macrumors P6

Intell