? Shield on new internal Macbook drive question.

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by davidinva, Jun 30, 2012.

  1. davidinva macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Location:
    Shenandoah Valley of Virginia, USA
    #1
    Yesterday I replaced my Macbook (2008) 160GB hard drive with a 320 and didn't put the shield from the old drive on the new one. (Didn't have the torque tool to do that.) Backed up the new drive from my Super Duper backup and it works fine. Do I need to remove the new drive and put the shield on it? Consequence of not doing so? Thanks.
     
  2. chrisperro macrumors 6502

    chrisperro

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Location:
    canada
    #2
    is fine, newer hard drives come without it
     
  3. davidinva thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Location:
    Shenandoah Valley of Virginia, USA
    #3
    Thanks. Saves me from buying the torque tool.

    By the way, for others, using Super Duper made the getting the hard drive ready for use easy. Took about a bit over an hour to initialize the new drive. But everything is on there as it was on the old drive.
     
  4. chrisperro macrumors 6502

    chrisperro

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Location:
    canada
    #4
    if i was you i go buy the tool u need it eventually ,no rush tho:
     
  5. davidinva thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Location:
    Shenandoah Valley of Virginia, USA
    #5
    Thought about that. Will probably do. Too hot here today (100+) to do much of anything outside of the house.
     

Share This Page