Shift to iCloud?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Faux Carnival, Sep 16, 2011.

1. Faux Carnival macrumors 6502a

Hello, @me.com email addresses will be given soon with the introduction of iCloud. So how is the shift going to be?

We all have Apple ID's. 90% of them ...@gmail.com. So when @me.com is given, do we have to get one? Will it be our primary email address for purchases, news, etc...? Will that be our new Apple ID? Can we continue using our old email? And finally, who will be offered @me.com email addresses? People with eligible iOS devices?

Thanks.

2. Saberon macrumors 6502a

Whatever your APPLE ID is now will stay the same. You purchase via the ID which is the same. THe only thing that's new is you get an email address that's @me.com

3. Kyotoma macrumors 68000

Kyotoma

Apple is devising of a way of merging your new @me.com address with your Apple ID.

For the moment, as a developer, I had to create a separate @me.com handle so I could access my iCloud email.

4. shandyman, Sep 16, 2011
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2011

shandyman Suspended

Your Apple ID stays the same. as it stands at the mo, when you turn on email in iCloud, it prompts you to pick a me.com email address, which gets attached to your apple ID, but you still use your normal login for your Apple ID, unless you go and change it in the settings.

presumably anyone with an Apple ID will be allowed an iCloud email address, it could be a free for all. we are yet to see.

the merging of apple ID's with existing me.com addresses is really for people that had a seperate mobileme accounts to apple ID's as there's lots of these.

with iOS 5, our existing Apple ID's got iCloud emails attached when we enabled mail in iCloud, the only people that had to create new me.com addresses in the beta are the people that had their mobileme as they onyl apple ID account.