Shipping '08 Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by rockinrocker, Feb 23, 2014.

  1. rockinrocker macrumors 65816

    rockinrocker

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    #1
    So I may be selling my ol' warhorse soon, and of course if I can't find a local buy shipping it may have to be an option…

    Has anybody had any issues shipping the "old" style MP's in the original box?

    Is that a bad idea?

    Thanks
     
  2. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #2
    Ship the MacPro in the same box that it originally shipped in?
    I can't think that would be a problem, although the foam packing is 6 years older. I've seen some of that just get very brittle, and not much protection anymore. If that seems dodgy, bubble wrap is easy to find.
     
  3. Einz macrumors regular

    Einz

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Location:
    Miami
    #3
    I sold and shipped my 08 Mac Pro a month ago using the original box without any issue.
     
  4. Marty62 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Location:
    Berlin formerly London
    #4
    I shipped my last 2 x in the original boxes - 1 x G5 and 1x MP 1,1 4 core.

    I put some soft supportive foam around the cards in the PCI area.

    Just told the new owners to remove and check that the cards / memory was
    seated properly.

    All went without a hitch :)

    M/
     
  5. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #5
    Shipped my beast of a 17" in it's original box and a padded shipping box. It arrived safe and sound.
     
  6. rockinrocker thread starter macrumors 65816

    rockinrocker

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    #6
    Excellent, thanks for the responses.

    That's one issue resolved…

    I mostly only asked cause I reused a cardboard box to ship something once and it ended up getting banged up pretty bad. But that didn't have the amount of styrofoam that the MP box does.

    I like the idea of putting some extra foam around the cards. Maybe I'll do that on the RAM daughter boards as well.
     
  7. Einz macrumors regular

    Einz

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Location:
    Miami
    #7
    If I sell my nMP few years down the road, shipping will be much easier and cheaper. :)
     
  8. violst macrumors 6502

    violst

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    #8
    How much would someone charge to ship a Mac Pro? I would assume its a pretty penny.
     
  9. rockinrocker thread starter macrumors 65816

    rockinrocker

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    #9
    Yeah, I've been wondering that as well.
    Most of the eBay auctions seem to list $50 as the cost of shipping, but I have no idea if that's representative of the actual cost.

    Anybody that's done it care to comment?
     
  10. violst macrumors 6502

    violst

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    #10
    I would think it would cost more then $50 to ship, it weights 40-50 pounds and is shipped in an oversized box. All that adds up.

    Im curious to know as well.
     
  11. rockinrocker thread starter macrumors 65816

    rockinrocker

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    #11
    Yeah, after looking again I guess some of the listings were higher than that, but some lower too.
     
  12. analog guy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    #12
    i recently sold and shipped my MP3,1 (in the original box).

    actual weight was 55 pounds (box is 28x23x13"). i shipped via UPS ground. of course, rates will vary based on the origin and destination, but the UPS cost was $43 with $1,000 of insurance. my discounted cost was $33.70.
     
  13. violst macrumors 6502

    violst

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    #13
    Thanks for the info analog guy. Thats cheaper then I thought.
     
  14. rockinrocker thread starter macrumors 65816

    rockinrocker

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    #14
    Yeah, less than I expected.

    Thanks analog guy.
     

Share This Page