Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

CrEsTo

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jun 23, 2006
Australia
Hi folks,

I just got an HV20 but I'm a totally newbie on video stuff, so anyhelp would be appreciated.

I will take a cruise to Alaska in a couple of weeks and of course I'll take the HV20 with me.

In which scenarios is recommended to shoot @ 24P? and when 60fps?
Any suggestions from experienced people shooting nature with this camera?

Thanks for your help.

:)

pdpfilms

macrumors 68020
Jun 29, 2004
Vermontana
Cresto,
I'm the new owner of an XH-A1, and I've been playing around a lot with the camera so I've got a few tips. First, I'd decide on a single framerate (24F, 60i, etc) and shoot all your footage on that. That way it maintains a constant look/feel throughout your travels. Personally I'd recommend 24F as it shoots a progressive frame (none of those jaggy lines with fast motion), but that's up to you.

Once you have that set, I think the best option would be to use the Tv mode (does the HV20 have it?). This allows you to set a shutter speed to remain constant*, and the camera adjusts aperture manually. 1/48 is a good standard shutter speed for 24F footage, though something a little higher will work as well. Any lower and you'll get some intense blurring with motion.

Then, I'd turn Auto Gain off. I'm not sure where in the menus to find this, but this is what makes noisy/grainy footage. It allows you to film in low light, but does so simply by electonically brightening the image. In the XH-A1 at least, Auto Gain adds gain when it's not really needed, giving you much dirtier, uglier footage than is necessary. I assume the HV20 does the same.

That should be about it... any questions?

*The shutter tends to be the variable that most drastically affects the look of footage, so it's often good to lock that.

CrEsTo

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jun 23, 2006
Australia