shooting to mac

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by chriscorbin, May 2, 2007.

  1. chriscorbin macrumors 6502

    chriscorbin

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Location:
    Vallejo, CA
    #1
    When i take family portraits i tend to shoot in RAW and this consumes large amounts of space on my card, also i like to see the images as big as i can. i was wondering is there any way i can shoot and get results live on my computer without buying Nikon Capture or any other software. i also use aperture for everything so, if i could get the images into aperture live that would be great. i use a Nikon D50. and i don't really care about controlling the camera from my computer. i am hoping that there is a script,freeware app or a trick someone on this site uses to get around this problem.



    Chris
     
  2. Mydriasis macrumors 6502

    Mydriasis

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    #2
    http://www.apple.com/downloads/macosx/automator/aperturehotfolder.html

    What you want to do is called tethered shooting. You hook up your camera to your mac via a usb cable and use the direkt import software that came with your camera to place the images in a folder. Setup the automator script so that aperture 'watches' that folder an imports them immediatly.

    Works in full screen mode as well!:)
     
  3. djbahdow01 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Location:
    Northeast, CT
    #3
    tethered

    Look around in Picture Project to see if it is included somewhere. I can't remember if it is because I don't use either as I don't have a need for tethered shooting at the moment or for organizing my photos as I have my own workflow that works for me.

    As for a freeware way to do it I would like to know as well, if PP can't do it. I'll look around when I get the chance to see if i can find something.
     
  4. Westside guy macrumors 601

    Westside guy

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Location:
    The soggy side of the Pacific NW
    #4
    As part of the Automator script/process Mydriasis suggests, you could have it delete the original once it's been imported to Aperture.

    That's assuming you're letting Aperture manage the library (which is the default), of course. Otherwise Aperture won't be copying the original, since that's the whole point of doing library management yourself; which means you do NOT want to delete it! :D
     
  5. Clix Pix macrumors demi-goddess

    Clix Pix

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    8 miles from the Apple Store at Tysons (VA)
    #5
    I don't think Picture Project does this; I think you have to buy Nikon Camera Control Pro in order to set up tethered shooting with a Nikon DSLR. I'm not sure that Aperture handles live display and tethered shooting, though, either....I don't think it does, actually.
     
  6. chriscorbin thread starter macrumors 6502

    chriscorbin

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Location:
    Vallejo, CA
    #6
    aperture can do that, but apple wants you to buy nikon capture in order to do it .there must be a way without wasting money on capture
     
  7. Clix Pix macrumors demi-goddess

    Clix Pix

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    8 miles from the Apple Store at Tysons (VA)
    #7
    I don't think Camera Control Pro is as expensive as Capture NX. I also don't think you're going to find anything free so if you want to do this at all, you may just have to bite the bullet....
     
  8. Mydriasis macrumors 6502

    Mydriasis

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    #8
    Should have gotten a Canon, their capture software is free. ;)


    I am so gonna get smoked for this.
     
  9. Lovesong macrumors 65816

    Lovesong

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    Stuck beween a rock and a hard place
    #9
    That is very, very likely. ;)
     
  10. Westside guy macrumors 601

    Westside guy

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Location:
    The soggy side of the Pacific NW
    #10
    No, you're not gonna get smoked - you're gonna get corrected. :D

    Nikon does provide free software called "Picture Project" that's the equivalent of the free Canon software. But they also have a very nice higher-end piece of software called "Capture".

    It's sort of like comparing iPhoto to Aperture. But Nikon does seem to try to nudge people toward paying for Capture... ;)
     
  11. Clix Pix macrumors demi-goddess

    Clix Pix

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    8 miles from the Apple Store at Tysons (VA)
    #11
    ...And it used to be that Capture was software that did everything, including perspective correction (de-fishing), tethered shooting, etc., but now Nikon has made things slightly more complicated and definitely more expensive by sending out Capture NX as one software program and then splitting off certain functions, including tethered shooting, into another program, called Camera Control Pro..... The two programs together will run around $200.00.
     

Share This Page