Shortcut to show all windows

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by mcooke, Jul 16, 2012.

  1. mcooke macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Location:
    Midwest, USA
    #1
    On my Mac Desktop the shortcut to show all open windows is F10 I believe, well on my MacBook Pro F10 is to illuminate the keyboard. Everything I'm finding on google is saying F3, F9, and F10 those either do the keyboard or the volume. F11 will hide all windows..... F12 goes to the dashboard. help?
     
  2. eagandale4114 macrumors 65816

    eagandale4114

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    #2
    This? Its called mission control.

    [​IMG]


    Go to system preferences> gestures> more gestures
    You will see it there.
     
  3. mcooke thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Location:
    Midwest, USA
    #3
    I don't have a gestures button in my preferences.
     
  4. DJKenji macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Location:
    Melb>Malaysia
    #4
    system preference > trackpad > more gesture

    mission control > swap up with three fingers
     
  5. Southernboyj macrumors 68000

    Southernboyj

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Location:
    Mobile, AL
    #5
    Which MacBook Pro model are you using? Are you running Lion? (OS X 10.7)

    To find out go :apple: -> About this Mac. Then you can click More Info to find out the year the laptop was made. Here is mine for example, its the Retina MBP.

    [​IMG]
     
  6. mcooke thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Location:
    Midwest, USA
    #6
    I don't have a gestures link in my Trackpad preferences, but I found mission control in my applications. I guess my MBP doesn't have a shortcut for it....
     
  7. eagandale4114 macrumors 65816

    eagandale4114

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    #7
    What model MBP do you have?
     
  8. Southernboyj macrumors 68000

    Southernboyj

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Location:
    Mobile, AL
    #8
    Try hitting the "F3" key. Unless you have the option to have the Function keys act as they would on say a Windows laptop, and you are using a 2011-2012 model MacBook, this should trigger mission control, or as others have said.. try swiping up with 3 fingers on your trackpad.
     
  9. eagandale4114 macrumors 65816

    eagandale4114

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    #9
    Go to system prefs> keyboard> and make sure all F1, F2 etc keys are used as standard functions is set to off.
    That should enable mission control via F3.
     
  10. mcooke thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Location:
    Midwest, USA
    #10
    How did you make the shot of that? and i'll write it out since I don't know how.

    Mac OS X
    Version 10.7.4
    processor 2.16 GHz intel core 2 duo
    memory 2GB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM
    start up disk HD

    And I can't find anywhere on what year it is.

    ----------

    F3 will mute. & I haven't owned a windows since 1998
     
  11. Southernboyj macrumors 68000

    Southernboyj

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Location:
    Mobile, AL
    #11
    There are 2 different screenshot methods, one takes a screenshot of the entire screen, the other turns your mouse arrow into crosshairs and allows you to select the area.

    Whole screen: Command+Shift+3
    Selective Area: Command+Shift+4

    Also, from the specs you listed.. I believe that is a Mid-2007 MacBook.
     
  12. mcooke thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Location:
    Midwest, USA
    #12
    Yeah, its a 2006 i just found it on apple support.
    & since I can't figure out how to make the shortcut (without getting rid of my mute brightness and ect.) I'll just keep mission control on my dock. I tend to have two screens if that make sense on my computer (like one on the tv and one on my laptop...) so, I'll just stick with this,
    Thanks everyone for the help though, I appreciate it.
     
  13. Southernboyj macrumors 68000

    Southernboyj

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Location:
    Mobile, AL
    #13
    Try one last thing.. try hitting Control + the Up arrow key.
     
  14. mcooke thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Location:
    Midwest, USA
    #14
    Cool, that worked. Thank you sir!
     
  15. Southernboyj macrumors 68000

    Southernboyj

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Location:
    Mobile, AL
    #15

    Welcome :) Thats probably the least popular shortcut to Mission Control, but hey if it works, it works! One thing I love about OS X, always multiple ways to do things. Also if you didn't notice yet, Control + down can exit Mission Control/Enter Spaces and Control + left/right arrows will swap between full screen windows.
     

Share This Page