Should I add El Cap on my main machine?

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by Four oF NINE, Jul 31, 2015.

  1. Four oF NINE macrumors 68000

    Four oF NINE

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Location:
    Hell's Kitchen
    #1
    I'm currently running 10.10.5 Yosemite beta, and running DP 3 El Cap 10.11 on my older MacBook

    Should I keep my main machine on the more mature OS X (even though it too is a beta) or go with the newer El Cap which is really getting some solid reviews and running without incident on my older MacBook?

    I have 2012 13" MacBook Pro (non-retina) with i7 and SSD as my older MacBook, and I have a 2015 15" MBPr as my newer unit.

    Thanks!
     
  2. matreya macrumors 65816

    matreya

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    #2
    It all depends on which apps you use and whether they work properly under El Capitan...

    I run it as my main OS, and I've found only a few issues, nothing that makes me revert to Yosemite.
     
  3. Four oF NINE thread starter macrumors 68000

    Four oF NINE

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Location:
    Hell's Kitchen
    #3
    I just recently switched to El Cap on my older MacBook, so I've not had it long.. But so far no issues.
     
  4. Michaelking4023 macrumors newbie

    Michaelking4023

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2015
    #4
    There still many third party apps that do not run or do not right run right stay on Yosemite until they do updated for them. Like I use Fantastical 2 as my main Calendar app and it crashes all the time on machines running El Capitan. Because of that my 2013 15 inch MacBook Pro and 5K iMac are still on even it a beta 10.10.5. And will not go to El Capitan until all apps run right. The other is SwitchResX and Crash Plan and they are working on updates to El Capitan and will be there for the GM.
     
  5. Four oF NINE thread starter macrumors 68000

    Four oF NINE

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Location:
    Hell's Kitchen
    #5
    My older MacBook keeps reloading beta 2 version of El Cap for some reason and not installing.. not sure what's up with that, I haven't seen any mention of it as an issue.
     
  6. Mr Dashles macrumors newbie

    Mr Dashles

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    #6
    I had the same problem. When you get the notification to restart your computer to install the update, let the 60 second timer count down and restart on its own rather than restarting immediately. That worked for me, anyway. Hope this helps.
     
  7. Four oF NINE thread starter macrumors 68000

    Four oF NINE

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Location:
    Hell's Kitchen
    #7
    I tried that as well.. App Store Updates shows I've installed El Capitan beta 2 version 8 times with another one pending :confused:
     
  8. navaira macrumors 68040

    navaira

    Joined:
    May 28, 2015
    Location:
    Amsterdam, Netherlands
    #8
    Since PB3 became available I have only two problems with El Capitan: one is that sound becomes glitchy on my external USB card and I have to disconnect/connect it or change settings in Audio MIDI Setup for the sound to return to normal, and the other is that some websites won't open correctly in Chrome. That's literally all I noticed. I'm sticking with Yosemite until those two problems are resolved, but if I accidentally managed to install El Cap on my main drive I wouldn't be extremely upset.
     
  9. anp27 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #9
    Which USB card?
     
  10. loon3y macrumors 65816

    loon3y

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    #10


    as a virtual machine, I'm going crazy right now with this beta OS. i installed it on my main computer on the main os. FML
     
  11. navaira macrumors 68040

    navaira

    Joined:
    May 28, 2015
    Location:
    Amsterdam, Netherlands
    #11
    Focusrite Scarlett 2i2, but I read reports here from people with other USB DACs doing the same thing.
     
  12. Irishman macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    #12
    A lot of folks seem to mistakenly view Apple's public betas as some sort of early access preview of a mature and ready OS. They're not. It can give you an idea of what the look and feel of a new OS is going to be, but one beta can run great, and the next can be terrible. Proceed with much caution.

    The only reason I gave thought to trying out the betas is because of Metal and what it means for gaming. The reason I opted not to, in the end, is because developer Metal patches to games won't be available until El Cap's public release this fall. I'll see no benefit for a lot of potential headache.
     
  13. anp27 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #13
    Hmmm... ok. I have an Apogee ONE and it's working fine with zero issues.. working perfectly since the very first El Capitan beta.
     
  14. jmeas macrumors regular

    jmeas

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2015
    Location:
    West Philly
    #14
    Last year, I upgraded my main machine (which is also my work machine) to the beta for Yosemite, and didn't regret it. I did the same today, and I'm loving it so far! My 12" Macbook is noticeably faster with this OS, even in beta form.

    I just spent a bit to make sure everything I needed for work is working fine. It seems to!

    I have a backup handy in case anything terrible happens :)
     
  15. navaira macrumors 68040

    navaira

    Joined:
    May 28, 2015
    Location:
    Amsterdam, Netherlands
    #15
    PB4 repaired it. Yay!
     
  16. Four oF NINE thread starter macrumors 68000

    Four oF NINE

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Location:
    Hell's Kitchen
    #16
    Ninth install of PB 2 finally took hold.. PB 3 installed without incident, now doing PB 4
     
  17. You are the One macrumors 6502a

    You are the One

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2014
    Location:
    In the present
  18. Four oF NINE thread starter macrumors 68000

    Four oF NINE

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Location:
    Hell's Kitchen
    #18
    It's not too late since I'm running El Cap on my older MacBook.

    PB 4 now installed and running properly, all applications and interfaces nominal.
     
  19. pollaxe macrumors 6502

    pollaxe

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Location:
    West of England
    #19
    I'd be cautious/wary to be honest.

    How about creating a second partition and installing it on that, would that be an option? I've got my MacBook Air 2011 and new MacBook running El Capitan but they aren't machines that are key to stuff that I do.

    I use a MacBook Pro (late 2013) at work and I've got El Capitan on a separate partition but I find things like VPN clients not working and LogMeIn crashing mean that I tend to use it in Yosemite for most of the time when it's needed for work duties. I also hit a bug with a multi-layer PSD crashing in Pixelmator today. Additionally, the fairly basic Disk Utility that the El Capitan betas have so far provided has also left me needing to go back to Yosemite for things like secure disk wipes.

    Good luck with whatever you decide to do, though. :)
     
  20. You are the One macrumors 6502a

    You are the One

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2014
    Location:
    In the present
    #20
    Judging from all the feedback in the 10.11 forum, don't install it on a machine you depend on for anything serious. :) Better safe than sorry. One even has to be careful where one sticks ones Thunderbolt nowadays :) weird times.
     

Share This Page