Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

MiniD3

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Mar 9, 2013
Australia
Hi Guys
I have a late 2012 27" iMac, has been running OK but notice the SSD is slowly filling,
I'm a photographer and all my images are stored on an external drive, trying to just keep, for the most part, just have software on the Mac,

I'm sure I deleted these backups a long while back a couple of years ago, I think these are the back-ups?
Screen Shot 2015-08-15 at 10.20.39 am.png

Screen Shot 2015-08-15 at 10.20.39 am.png
Screen Shot 2015-08-15 at 10.21.19 am.png

and the list goes on,
thinking the last one is this,
20150815_33_20827_© Gary Worrall_untitled shoot-Edit.jpg

Should I be deleting all the previous back-ups?
Gary

Last edited:

Taz Mangus

macrumors 604
Mar 10, 2011
Hi Guys
I have a late 2012 27" iMac, has been running OK but notice the SSD is slowly filling,
I'm a photographer and all my images are stored on an external drive, trying to just keep, for the most part, just have software on the Mac,

I'm sure I deleted these backups a long while back a couple of years ago, I think these are the back-ups?
View attachment 575234
View attachment 575234 View attachment 575235
and the list goes on,
thinking the last one is this,
View attachment 575236
Should I be deleting all the previous back-ups?
Gary

Latest does point to the latest backup date. Hopefully you are using Time Machine itself to delete the backup and not manually deleting them.

MiniD3

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Mar 9, 2013
Australia
Not sure how I deleted a couple of years back, (70 year old geriatric Mac guy)
How should I delete the old ones?
......Gary

DeltaMac

macrumors G5
Jul 30, 2003
Delaware
Time Machine does not usually need your help.
It will begin deleting the oldest backups automatically, if it begins to run low on space.