Should I bother to learn FCS with the new FCX coming soon?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by drexl5, May 4, 2011.

1. drexl5 macrumors member

I have FCS 3 (it came with my iMac that I bought on eBay) and I was wondering if it was worth the time to learn to use it using online tutorials on YouTube and other sites. Now I'm just a hobby video editor (I'm 18) that might go to college for video editing. I ask if it's worth it because the new final cut will be out in a couple of months. Should I concentrate learning other parts of FCS like color and motion? Will learning Final Cut even help using the new one? By the way I'm coming from editing on Windows using Sony Vegas

2. jwheeler macrumors regular

I been expecting you, Question!

Edit: I'm gunna guess at other's answers and say that it's worth learning any normal NLE editor. Because your future jobs may not have the new FCPX. And if FCPX turns out to run like a normal NLE, then all is good.

3. mBox macrumors 68020

Hold off...

Yes dont learn anything just yet ;)
    Im kidding of course.
    I teach FCP at local college.
    I went thru the same thing with my students that just started their night course.
    Its your call if you think you dont need to learn FCP now.
    Ive been giving my students an inside look at what might be.
    But I also gear my course outline to teach NLE across Avid. Premiere and even Vegas.
    This way they dont have to stay with FCP.

4. Erendiox macrumors 6502a

Erendiox

NLE programs share many common interface and workflow principles. Much of what you learn using Final Cut Express will apply to using other editing programs. This is especially true for FCE going into FCP7, as the interface is nearly the same. The new FCP X, while being chock full of new features and and a complete interface overhaul, it will still maintain many of the same behaviors that were present in FCP7.