Should i buy a 15' macbook pro now, Or wait?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Smarterchild, Apr 8, 2010.

1. Smarterchild macrumors member

Hello, Im new to the forum. I have followed this website briefly, but yet to get the hang of it and understand it completely.

I am a highschool student about to go to college for photography and looking at getting a basic 15' Macbook pro 2.53GHz. This isnt the only apple product ill be getting. Im looking to buy the macbook pro for just a entry into the mac system and use for just college classes(note taking, basic edits on site, ect... Nothings serious). But, im planning on making my switch for the use of photgraphy. plus, Macs are just awesome :).

So this is my plan...

Getting the 15' macbook pro within the next few weeks. Then later on buy the 27' Imac with a quad core I7 proccessor with 8gb ram ( for more serious photo editing). I am curious is the new upgrade would be somthing i should wait for or not. I dont want to shoot myself in the foot if i buy the laptop and the replacement comes out the next day with an I5 or I7 proccessor in it. How much of an upgrade would that be? Would it be better for me to just get my Imac now? and wait till the end of summer for the macbook pro.

thank you for reading my post, i hope to be enlightened by anyhthing i dont know about apple products.

2. Hellishness macrumors 65816

Hellishness

Get the iMac now, wait until the refresh for the MBP.

3. Smarterchild thread starter macrumors member

How long till the update? Well.. iknow its not posted any where. But estimated time due to rumors and days since the previous upgrade. I read in the buyer's guide that its been 300 days since the updade when the average time between updates is 200 Days.

4. chopper dave macrumors regular

Are you seriously asking this question in a new thread?

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=890963

50,000 posts have already been dedicated to this topic.

5. Hellishness macrumors 65816