Should i buy a Hackintosh from eBay? feedback please

Discussion in 'Apple, Inc and Tech Industry' started by Aegis, May 23, 2008.

1. Aegis macrumors newbie

Hi, i just bumped into this ad on eBay:
    http://cgi.benl.ebay.be/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=180246159037

I'm quite new at using a mac, but i get quite far with it. Kinda thinking of kicking my old Windows-rig out and buy something more like this.
    I mailed the guy and he said it's only for europe (PSU-thing). I like think the offer is not that bad, but what do you guys think of this? If i want to build a system myself, i'd have to buy parts at different webshops to get to that price (excluding shipping :() :s too much hassle or worth buying?

2. MacUser2525 macrumors 68000

MacUser2525

Firstly the power supply thing is nonsense most of them auto detect the voltage and switch to properly using whatever is connected to it. Second you can build yourself a way better system for less money as 899 Euro in USD equals $1417.09 according to Google.

Code:
    Basic MB OSX comp.  $100
    Case & PSU         $150
    4GB DDR2 800mhz   $90
    Q6600 retail G0    $250
    8800GT            $200
    500GB HD           $80
    DVD Burner         $30
    KB & Mouse         $100
    Leopard Retail    $150

Total          $ 1150

So you can save roughly $260 by building yourself does not include taxes though and some of my numbers are off on the high side so that would probably pay for the shipping of all of it, if you really need the firewire toss in an extra $30 for it. One more thing you may notice about that add is they specify the processors running in it by just saying @3ghz so it most likely is an over clocked processor and you don't get any clue as to the real model. In short if you are going to do it then do it yourself that way you get exactly what you paid for.

3. gkarris macrumors 604

gkarris

Psystar sells open computers here in the US.

www.psystar.com