Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

videotape

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 15, 2007
Hi!
I'm a student currently in high school but i'm off to colllege soon and wanted to upgrade to a macbook. I'm currently using windows 2000! And while this still works fine, my computer is very large and bulky and certainly not dorm room friendly. I'd also really like to have a laptop to be able to carry around with me. I've thought about buying a mac for two years now and finally have enough money saved up. My parents don't want me to, they think it is a waste but I have my heart set on it. Should I buy one? and if so is there anything I should wait for, like ilife 07? Also, are their any disadvantages to buying one refurbished?

thank you so much in advanced!

iW00t

macrumors 68040
Nov 7, 2006
Defenders of Apple Guild
Refurbished Macbooks are great.

I dare say even "safer" bets than the refurbished Macbook Pros. Quite a few instances where people buy refurbished Macbook Pros and it comes with either a dent or a broken hinge. No such occurences for the MBs :)

extraextra

macrumors 68000
Jun 29, 2006
California
No disadvantages to buying a refurbished one, except it comes in a brown box instead of the white box.

I would go for the Macbook.

danvdr

macrumors regular
Jun 5, 2004
Hi!
I'm a student currently in high school but i'm off to colllege soon and wanted to upgrade to a macbook.

"College" only has two "l"s ;)

Depends how soon "soon" is. If it's next fall, then wait 'til the end of summer. Over the next 6 months there are bound to be improvements which you'll miss out on by buying now; or, if you don't need the latest and greatest, the products on the Apple store's refurb page will be today's latest and greatest.

e12a

macrumors 68000
Oct 28, 2006
a waste? if anything you can load windows xp on it.