Should i buy an iPhone 3GS ?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by green9206, Sep 14, 2014.

1. green9206 macrumors member

green9206

I am a student and i have never owned any Apple device but i want to experience the Apple ecosystem so am considering a used iPhone 3GS as a sort of first Apple device i use.I do have a Lumia 520 so i just wanted to know is it still ok to get a used 3GS just for basic use and to experience what iOS is all about ?
    Also it would be helpful to know what must i look for while buying a used iPhone so i don't get a faulty unit.Thanks and if i like it, my next phone would probably be a used iPhone 4S but right now am a bit short on cash so should i get a 3GS ?

2. uchosen macrumors 6502

3GS is a fine choice if you are strapped for cash but be aware that a lot of the features of the latest iOS are not supported.

3. penajmz macrumors 68030

penajmz

In my opinion, I don't think you will get the best experience of iOS with one of those older devices. I would consider an iPhone 5 or later and if you want the smaller screen then the one I would recommend is a 4s minimum.

4. ucfgrad93 macrumors P6

ucfgrad93

Agreed. You are not going to get the best experience on a 3GS. He the latest device you can afford, OP.

5. Raptura macrumors 6502

Raptura

I would go for an iPhone 4 if you're going to go down this road. You'll have a better experience in getting familiar with the iOS platform this way.

6. ARSC macrumors 6502

7. nippyjun macrumors 65816

3GS is very slow. Can't you get a free 5c on most carriers starting Friday.

8. Ayr macrumors 6502

I'll sell you one for £30 if you're in the UK. Wifi on it don't work right. Otherwise fine.

9. nostresshere macrumors 68030

Rather naive comment. It is not free. You still have to pay for service and data.

10. ZBoater macrumors G3

ZBoater

4s is as low as I would go. I'd recommend a used 5. Plenty of those coming up,for sale shortly.

11. bueller1 macrumors 6502

How much does a used 3GS go for