Should I buy iLife '08?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by penter, Aug 10, 2007.

  1. penter macrumors 6502a

    penter

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    #1
    Should I buy and upgrade to iLife '08 now, or should i wait for Leopard to come out first?

    My two biggest concerns are: 1) Leopard might already have the applications included in it!!!
    2) if i install iLife '08 with my current OS I might, somehow, not be able to transfer it to the upcoming OS (Leopard), being that i already used the serial, or for any other odd reason.
     
  2. 66217 Guest

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    #2
    1) That WON'T happen.

    2) Don't worry, you won't have problems.:)

    So maybe the only benefit of waiting, is to give Apple time to fix some bugs.
     
  3. Tumeg101 macrumors 6502a

    Tumeg101

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Orange County, California
    #3
    1) iLife does not come bundled with the OS...
    2) You can save all your stuff on your macbook, and only swap out the OS from Tiger to leopard, and you will keep everything on your mac, without reinstalling it all
     
  4. Roy Hobbs macrumors 68000

    Roy Hobbs

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    #4
    It won't be included in Leopard, if you want it just buy it.
     
  5. aristobrat macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #5
    1) Apple's been releasing iLife yearly for awhile now and it's never been included "free" in the years where an OS X upgrade was also released.

    2) There is no serial number of iLife, plus, when you upgrade to Leopard, it shouldn't mess with your currently installed programs.
     
  6. penter thread starter macrumors 6502a

    penter

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    #6
    oh, thank you all, for replying to such silly questions
    :):eek:
    i'll be going to get my new iLife '08 soon, then!!

    if all the apps in iLife stay, does that mean ALL my other apps and preferences stay as well??
     
  7. aristobrat macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #7
    When I went from 10.3 to 10.4, I don't remember any of my applications or preferences getting messed up.

    Well, scratch that. The VPN client my company uses for remote access wasn't compatible with 10.4. Other than that, no problems. :D
     
  8. penter thread starter macrumors 6502a

    penter

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    #8
    lol im sure im not gonna be having that problem

    thanks again.

    i love the macrumors community :) always so friendly and useful
     

Share This Page