Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

iJohnMajed

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 31, 2015
I’m a junior CS college student, I only own an old windows laptop that pretty much sucks in every possible way, all of my work is done on my decent pc though and while I really coding on my PC I need a good machine to be with me when I’m out or traveling (Which I’ll be doing a lot after one month).

I joined this subreddit to search for reviews and I found this problem with the keyboard.... I was thinking about getting 16GB, 256GB SSD MBP 2017 but now I’m not sure at all. I know that theyll probably release the new 8th gen and fix keyboard issue in WWDC but the problem is, I’m from Egypt and those MBs are so expensive here and I was going to ship it to my friend who’s returning to Egypt the next week, it costs 50% more to buy it here so basically it's the only chance to buy it.

So I was wondering if the keyboard problem is really that bad and I should just refrain from buying it?

Another concern for me is the durability of that MBP 2017, I’m only going for the 16GB because I want to have this laptop working for at least 4 years , I’ve heard of old MBPs lasting way more than that and still going hard!

Please advice me. Thanks.

Anarchy99

macrumors 65816
Dec 13, 2003
CA
If it was me I would get a 2015 model and avoid the 2016-2017 models like the plague

For computer science student the need for a Esc key alone should be a deterant, but basically the touchbar is a gimic and the ultra low travel makes the keyboards uncomfy not to mention grit is hard to remove (egypt has sand right ;) ) from them and can cause more damage then the older retina models.

If it's going to be your main system you're gonna want to keyboard that doesn't suck and ports are nice not to mention money savings :D

iJohnMajed

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 31, 2015