should i convert all my music to aac?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by benlangdon, Feb 21, 2008.

  1. benlangdon macrumors 65832

    benlangdon

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    #1
    i dunno thought i would try it
    its been half an hour and its done 90 songs.
    there is 9900 more to go.
    should i really do it? etc
     
  2. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #2
    What format are they in now? If you're coming from the original CD, then you'll get better quality or a smaller filesize (compared to MP3). If you're converting from MP3 then you'll lose quality.
     
  3. benlangdon thread starter macrumors 65832

    benlangdon

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    #3
    half and half
    say 20g of cds
    20 of other

    is it really noticeable
     
  4. pianoman macrumors 68000

    pianoman

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    #4
    i think the question you should be asking yourself is whether you notice a difference. if not, don't bother. if you do notice a difference and it's worth your time, then by all means proceed.
     
  5. benlangdon thread starter macrumors 65832

    benlangdon

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    #5
    ya... althought this is taking for ever to do. i should have put these on my hd first then do it. usb external = no bueno

    ya update
    300 songs = 1 hour
    9600 more to go
     
  6. goodtimes5 macrumors 6502a

    goodtimes5

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #6
    It also depends on how you listen to music. If you use iPod headphones, don't bother. If you rock a $1,000 setup, do it.
     
  7. benlangdon thread starter macrumors 65832

    benlangdon

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    #7
    1k no.
    but i do have a nice stero
    4 8in mids
    4 tweaters
    another 8 tweaters (they were laying around)
    1 10in sub

    its umm very very loud :D

    ooo and when you play z metal :eek:
    (it can drown out my drum set)
    i kinda worked it out.
    it would take 33 hours.

    o ya i do have kinda nice headphones. skull candy in ear ones
     
  8. iHerzeleid macrumors 6502a

    iHerzeleid

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    #8
    No point in converting to AAC. It's a nice format but for the best quality to size ration LAME V0 files are best. Transcoding from a lossy format to another lossy format is never good anyways. (MP3 -> AAC)
     
  9. rhett7660 macrumors G4

    rhett7660

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Sunny, Southern California
    #9
    How are you connecting to your stereo? You might want to also consider FLAC or Ape.

    I have a 25K music collection that I have ripped from mainly CD's (Over 600 of them). I used Mp3 @320kbs rip. At the time the unit that I was using to play over my stereo would only accept Mp3's (Auditron by Turtle Beach). I now have the Escient Firebal SE-80. I am thinking of re-ripping in FLAC. Hard drive space is so cheap these days. FWIW
     
  10. benlangdon thread starter macrumors 65832

    benlangdon

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    #10
    ya i have 120 on my mbp then two external another 120 and a 500 then 30 on my ipod.

    i always wondered what i could do with a terabite
     
  11. rhett7660 macrumors G4

    rhett7660

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Sunny, Southern California
    #11
    My server has 2 terabytes... I keep alot of pictures (photographer) plus all my music and videos that I edit. What I am thinking of doing once I get around to re-ripping in flac is also having another folder with the rips to mp3 so I can still load up all my ipods/itunes etc.
     

Share This Page