Should I download a newer version of Ruby?

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by dr0wzy, May 22, 2010.

  1. dr0wzy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    #1
    I'm just using the standard version of ruby and I was wondering if anybody knows wether or not I'm going to be able to aptly-program in the bone stock version that comes with leopard.


    P.S. I was at bestbut today and I oppened up terminal for the mac's they had their. And oppnened up the IRB. And then printed out Buy me!!! for some of the mac's. I lol'd
     
  2. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #2
    If you are still on Leopard you'll need to build from source but might as well get the latest version of Mac Ruby here:

    http://www.macruby.org/

    Edit: You should bear in mind that it is not 100% compatible with the main ruby language at the moment. But I'm sure it'll get there.
     
  3. dr0wzy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
  4. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #4
    It should be adequately documented.

    But if you are a beginner you should probably just stick with the default installation for now and worry about upgrading stuff later.
     
  5. vocaro macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    #5
    Why would you need to upgrade it? If it ain't broke, don't fix it.
     
  6. Kaliemon macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    #6
    I use Ruby almost everyday, so I would say upgrade. Ruby 1.9.1 is what I have installed, and it is faster than the stock in leopard (1.8.7 I think ?).

    1.9 Introduced some changes to the standard library that should be learned sooner rather than later.

    If you upgrade, don't build it from source yourself. Use macports (http://www.macports.org/) and Porticus (http://porticus.alittledrop.com/).Using this combination makes it really easy to keep up-to-date.

    Lastly, you might need to install Xcode and developer tools from Apple first; to get the necessary build tools.
     

Share This Page