Should I enable TRIM on Lion?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by g33, Dec 29, 2011.

  1. g33 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #1
    I have a Vertex 2E and part of the reason why I just upgraded to Lion was for trim... just to find out that it only supports 'Apple' SSDs.

    Anyways... having read conflicting advice as to whether trim would effectively make my machine more efficient in running is debatable. Is there solid and reliable avice regarding this?

    What have you guys/gals done?

    Thanks in advance :)
     
  2. Ccrew macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    #2
    The Sandforce controller in a Vertex 2 doesn't need trim enabled.
     
  3. bridgeman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
  4. IngerMan, Mar 10, 2012
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2012
  5. Spink10 macrumors 601

    Spink10

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    #5
    If you are not having any problems - there really is no need for TRIM - people often install something just to have it.
     

Share This Page