Should I get 8GB of ram?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by macbook pro i5, Oct 16, 2011.

1. macbook pro i5 macrumors 65816

macbook pro i5

This is my routine
    :3 tabs of safari in 2 windows
    -dreamweaver
    -flash
    -word is a must and always open
    -Minecraft(occasionally):D
    -itunes
    -mail

in activity monitor it shows very little amount of ram is it worth the upgrade?

2. simsaladimbamba

3. macbook pro i5 thread starter macrumors 65816

macbook pro i5

Page ins:582.2MB
    Page outs:280.3MB
    Swap:70.0MB
    I would just like to point out I am not a newbie at technology or computers because I build them and I am iOS dev in training so add Xcode to the list as well.

4. mentaluproar macrumors 68000

mentaluproar

It is cheaper to upgrade your own RAM. You can never have too much ram. That said, you don't need any more ram for those purposes.

5. macbook pro i5 thread starter macrumors 65816

macbook pro i5

My mac has slowed down considerbrly after having 2 kernel panics because of not having enough ram I would say other wise...

6. md301 macrumors member

hi

im a designer, my rule of thumb is max the memory out as i may have small graphics now but if i do larger graphic extensive work i dont want my mac to slow down. just buy memory from outside and it will save you few bucks than ordering it from apple store. just make sure they are compatible.

7. macbook pro i5 thread starter macrumors 65816

macbook pro i5

Can you recommend what RAM I should get

8. heisenberg123 macrumors 603

heisenberg123

9. cr2 macrumors regular

Same question... for 16GB.

I was looking at 16GB as these seems to be less than $200 but I am not a heavyweight user. Once in a while I was able to utilize 7gb RAM on my late 2010 dual core 2, MBP. Now I have swapped it with late 2011 i5. Hoping that I can do some of the aperture 3 work a lot quicker.

Anyone with 16gb RAM here? Any suggestions?

10. thundersteele macrumors 68030