Should I get a 24" ACD?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by GhostDZ9, Sep 18, 2010.

1. GhostDZ9 macrumors regular

Hey Guys,

I am considering buying the 24" ACD, I am a college student and I do a lot of programming, mac and windows so would you guys suggest getting it?

I take my macbook back and forth to school and I find when I want to do my work there is never enough screen space

Also if you know of any place that is selling them for cheaper then 999 in Ontario, Canada that would be much appreciated

2. spinnerlys Guest

spinnerlys

3. GhostDZ9 thread starter macrumors regular

Well i called apple about the display they said if they can sell them then they get shipped back to apple with gets placed on the refurbished part for 699 so im not looking to spend more the 800

4. jbyun04 macrumors 6502a

jbyun04

You'll be happy with a 24" I think, especially the 16:10. Even better since you can get the refurb for $700.

5. Techhie macrumors 65816

Techhie

IMO, a college student's budget would be much better off with a similar offering from another OEM. Unless the Apple logo means that much to you, I'd take my money elsewhere :(

6. jbyun04 macrumors 6502a

jbyun04

You could always opt for the cinemaview 24.. aesthetically it's the same as an ACD without the iSight, MacBook charger, Speakers, and IPS. I think it's like three or four hundred bones.. dunno what they're charging now

7. foodle macrumors 6502

Cinemaview 24" is not an equivalent product:
    - lower resolution (only 1920x1080)
    - 16:9 aspect ratio instead of 16:10
    - not IPS (just look at the lower viewing angle numbers)
    - lower brightness

So it's a significantly lower-grade display.

For the OP, I'd suggest either an ACD 24" refurb or going with another quality IPS display (Dell Ultrasharp U2410 or HP z2475w).

8. jbyun04 macrumors 6502a

jbyun04

i never said it was an equivalent product