Should I get a dSLR?

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by Mongol, Jul 4, 2012.

1. Mongol macrumors member

I'm interested in getting into photography and possibly some video work.

I have very little experience currently though.

Would it be overkill to get a dSLR, or should I shoot around with a more basic camera first?

And how much does an entry level dSLR+lenses cost these days?

2. compuwar macrumors 601

compuwar

If you're good with hauling around and using a bulky DSLR, there's no reason not to get one. The price depends heavily on where you are, what you buy and if you go new or used.

Paul

3. SaleenS351 macrumors 6502

I would check out the mirrorless cameras. Excellent photo quality, smaller, more affordable, interchangeable lenses, good video quality. Most shoot in 1080p. I got the Sony Nex-5n and I have Nikon dslr's and the quality is right on par for most of the things I shoot.

4. BigRed1 macrumors 6502

I second the mirrorless systems. I have an olympus epm1 (available with kit lens from Cameta for $299). I love it, especially after getting an adapter allowing me to use my old canon fd lenses with it. I like the Sony systems, too, but personally prefer Olympus cameras.

I feel a lot more comfortable walking around with my tiny epm1 than I would with a big dslr. The size difference is remarkable and I am more than happy with my results.

For video work, I'd recommend looking at the Panasonic GX1 (more in the $500-550 range).

I don't know if its just me, but after recording video with a manual focus lens, I never want to go back to recording video with autofocus again. All that focus hunting by the AF camera during videos is bothersome to me.

If you're not bothered by the bulk and weight of the dslr, it probably provides the best results, but for me it's not by far enough for the step up in price and size.

5. macjonny1 macrumors 6502a

macjonny1

I'd get a new mirrorless camera if you aren't sure you need a DSLR