Should I get a reburb or new MPB?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by marleya, Jun 25, 2012.

1. marleya macrumors newbie

I'm a student trying to decide between these two 15" MBP computers. The main thing is, I want the anti-glare upgrade so I can use it outside.

Refurbished MBP at a cost of $1679

Originally released February 2011
    15.4-inch (diagonal) LED-backlit Hi-Res antiglare widescreen display, 1680-by-1050 resolution
    4GB (2 x 2GB) of 1333MHz DDR3 SDRAM
    750GB Serial ATA @ 5400 rpm
    8x double-layer SuperDrive (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW)
    Intel HD Graphics 3000 and AMD Radeon HD 6750M
    1GB GDDR5 graphics memory
    http://store.apple.com/us-hed/product/G0M18LL/A#overview

New MBP at a cost of $1799 (student price with anti-glare upgrade)

15-inch: 2.3 GHz

2.3GHz quad-core Intel Core i7
    Turbo Boost up to 3.3GHz
    4GB 1600MHz memory
    500GB 5400-rpm hard drive1
    Intel HD Graphics 4000
    NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M with 512MB of GDDR5 memory
    Built-in battery (7 hours)2

I know the new one has a faster processor and RAM. My main concern is that on the refurb, the video card has 1GB memory and the new one has only 512MB. I'm not a gamer, but I know the video card memory is important. Also, the new one has a smaller HD, but I'm not really worried about that. What is the better deal? What else should I consider?

Thanks!

***Sorry, title should obvi say refurb not reburb!!

2. Stetrain macrumors 68040

I would go with the 2012 model. The new Intel and Nvidia chips seem to run cooler than the previous generation, and you also get USB 3.

You might also want to think about upgrading to an SSD at some point in the future, that would probably make the single biggest difference in how fast the computer feels in daily use.

3. InlawBiker macrumors 6502

Given the small price difference I would get the newer model.

4. Zwikker macrumors regular

Zwikker

I would get the one with 1gb of Vram of course. It will be a must have in a long run.