Should I get an iMac instead?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by xXSL1MXx, May 10, 2011.

1. xXSL1MXx macrumors member

So I have the 2009 13" MacBook Pro. Great computer, but like all computers, is getting slow.
    I am in need of an upgrade, but I'm not sure whether or not to get this recently upgraded iMac or another MacBook Pro.
    I am a sophomore in high school who loves to surf the web, multitask, check emails, youtube and my favorite, write ESSAYS:)()
    I originally chose the MB Pro due to it's portability. I had a Dell desktop before and hated how I was stuck to one place and how it was soooooo LOUD. Now, however, my situation has changed. I own an iPhone 4 and iPad 2(well, it's the family's but still:D). These two devices allow me to be all over the place w/o needed a computer.
    -------------
    I'd really like a laptop, but there are some reasons that are making me think it over:
    *I have never taken my laptop outside of my house in its 2 years(crazy, i know)
    *The specs compared between the iMac and the MB Pro have great differences.
    *I already have access to the family's iPad, though it's not the same as having a personal device.
    *I saw the new iMac at the Apple Store. The 21" is HUGE. The 27" is just GINORMOUS. it's display is beautiful, is it HD?
    Reasons why I want to stick to a laptop:
    *Portability throughout my 2 story house; I can go and type essays where ever I feel like it.
    *ugh,...that's all I can think of!

If I were to stick with a laptop, I'd be getting the 2012 refresh(looking for a redesign).

iMac Specs:
    2.5GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i5
    1920 x 1080 resolution
    4GB (two 2GB) memory
    500GB hard drive1
    AMD Radeon HD 6750M with 512MB
    MB Pro:
    2.3GHz dual-core
    Intel Core i5
    4GB 1333MHz
    320GB 5400-rpm1
    Intel HD Graphics 3000
    Built-in battery (7 hours)2

What do you guys think? Are the iMacs and the MB Pro's really that far off?:confused: