Should I get Macbook Air today or wait for new rMPB?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by JohnLA, Aug 3, 2013.

1. JohnLA macrumors newbie

Hi all! So I am a high school student going into 11th grade. I live in Louisiana, so for the rest of today (8/3/13) I get an additional 4% off of taxes, not huge but nice.

My question is, should I get the Macbook Air with Haswell today or wait for the Retina Macbook Pro Haswell Refresh?

Macbook Pro is as an option but I heard it might not refresh at all because Apple wants to promote Retina.

My uses of this laptop:

Programming in Xcode (iOS apps)
    Taking notes in class
    Web Design
    Running an online business off of it. (Ebay, which is mainly web browsing)
    Occasional photo editing
    I INTEND to play Sims 3 and record gameplay. Then I will do editing.
    So I would LIKE to be able to edit video. Not worth $1000 to me.

Here is the other problem. I don't want to pay more than necessary. The rMBP is out of the picture if the price is to high. Right now I can get one for like $1400. If it's more than $1500 after refresh, goodbye Retina. Besides, when I bought my first laptop in 2008 (2 years of grass cutting...), I bought it for the touchscreen which was a waste. I'd hate to buy into another screen gimmick, plus I know if I get a Retina I will never be able to look at another screen again.

What are other sales that I could buy from? Black Friday?

Right now my 13" 128SSD, i7, 8gb RAM Air costs $1279. Plus a free $100 gift card. Should I just go for it?

Also is the i7 worth $140?

Thanks guys! Glad to finally join the MacRumors family!

2. ducatiti macrumors 6502a

I was in similar situation just yesterday. Today, I ended up buying two 13" RMBP for only $1,199.00 each, ($300 off right now from Best Buy). I bought one for daughter and myself. It was a no brainer for me since when will I get an opportunity to purchase a 13" retina this cheap?

But as they all say in this forum, "If you need it, buy one now". :)